Skip to content

Oatmeal Cookies With Lots O Stuff

May 27, 2009

Recipe for Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats (or throw some oat bran or multi-grain cereal in!)
  • 1  1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (sub in some wheat germ or flax meal for fun
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Sprinkle other fun spices like cloves, ginger, allspice
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup giant mixed raisins (or regular raisins)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or other nuts
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (I use the beautiful big Ghirardelli 60% cocoa chips)
  • 1/3 cup mild oil, like safflower or grapeseed
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup honey (or maple syrup or agave, to make ’em vegan)
  • 1 tsp almond extract (or vanilla)

Directions:

Want to have this sitting in front of you?

Yummy!

Yummy!

Here’s the deal:

Preheat the oven to 375 and lightly oil two cookie sheets.

Mix all the dry ingredients, up to and including the raisins, nuts, and chocolate chips in a medium sized bowl.

Make a well in the middle and pour in all the wet ingredients, and mix wet and dry until just combined.

Drop batter onto cookie sheets and flatten out  mound slightly, leave two inches between cookies.

Bake for 15 minutes or so, until they are your desired doneness.

Keep in mind you can mix this recipe up and add in other dried fruits, sub all chocolate chips for the raisins, or even add in sunflower seeds! These are definitely healthier than some other cookies, but very tasty!

mmmcookie

Mmmm, cookie!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 6:36 pm

    I just found your blog b/c I saw your comment on the snaking post from Great Fitness Experiment and cracked up!

    Oatmeal cookies are my favorite, and this recipe looks great! I love the idea of using almond extract, and Ghirardelli 60% caco are the only chocolate chips I use :). If I hadn’t eaten my last bag by the handful, I would have all of these ingredients! I will be making these soon…Thanks for the recipe!

  2. jentrinque permalink*
    May 27, 2009 6:48 pm

    You can eat chocolate chips by the handful, straight from the bag? I’d never do such a thing! LOL!

Leave a comment