Skip to content

Or Not.

May 26, 2010

I totally intended to attend the talk put on by Dan Buettner about how to live to 100, based on his research of the so-called “Blue Zones”. The talk was to start at 6:00 pm last night, but I ended up not being able to make it because of some work-related stuff. 😦
However, I have the newspaper article concerning last night’s talk in my hot little hands, so I can at least discuss his top nine tips. (You can read the whole article here.)

Here are Dan Buettner’s “power nine” tips for living to 100 and my thoughts on them, ’cause I know you wanna know.

  1. Move: Find ways to move mindlessly. Make moving unavoidable. I have read many times that we should work fidgeting into our lives, and I can’t say I’ve ever made that happen. I do make an effort to exercise every day, and I get up and walk around quite a bit at work. I think I do okay at this, but I could always try to do a teensy bit more.
  2. Plan de Vida: Know your purpose in life. Oh boy! Definitely working on this one, though I have times when I have absolutely no idea and I get kinda bummed. Interesting to hear how important this really is.
  3. Downshift: Work less, slow down, rest, take vacation. Sounds good to me…did I mention I only work four days a week? 🙂
  4. 80 Percent Rule: Stop eating when you are 80 percent full. I’ve heard this over and over again, too. Working on it for sure!
  5. Plant-Power: Eat more veggies, and less protein and processed foods. Yay for plant power! And yay for hearing from another source that protein ain’t all that. I first read that protein wasn’t all it was cracked up to be a few years ago in The China Study, and since then I’ve been happy to eat more whole grains, fruits, beans, and veggies and not worried so much about how much protein I’m getting.
  6. Red Wine: Consistency and moderation. I love red wine, but I definitely don’t drink it consistently or moderately. Oh wait, that’s not right. I don’t drink consistently, period. I probably have a drink once or twice a week, or maybe nothing at all for a month. And I don’t always choose red wine, either. I’ve heard that if you don’t already drink regularly, there’s no reason to start, so I’m not sure if this is advice I’ll take.
  7. Belong: Create a healthy social network. This is something I have been working very hard on recently! Again, I didn’t realize how much of a factor it was in living a long life.
  8. Beliefs: Spiritual or religious participation. I’m spiritual…but I keep it mostly private. I wonder if that counts?
  9. Your Tribe: Make family a priority. My cats are my family, and I certainly make them a priority:)

Interesting stuff! I wish I had gotten to see him live, but it’s nice to see I’m already on the right track. And yes, I would like to live to 100, but only if I’m up and around and can be vibrant – I do not intend to live any other way.

Have a great day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

