Skip to content

Freezer Loaf and Other Oddities from FrankenJen

May 23, 2010

When I have my cooking extravaganzas on Sundays, I often end up with way too much food to consume in a week. Enter my freezer. By this weekend I had frozen lentils, plain brown rice, brown rice with Rotel tomatoes and Mexican seasonings, spinach hummus and a plethora of various types of veggie burgers staring back at me, begging to be used whenever I opened the freezer door.

So I decided to defrost a bunch of the stuff, add a few extra things, and make Freezer Loaf. This is how mine turned out:

"How I love the fresh air. I have been in the cold, dark freezer for far too long." (What, your food doesn't talk to you?)

I ended up thawing out about a cup of lentils, 3 cups of rice (some plain, some Mexican style), and two veggie burgers that were made from white beans and spinach and artichokes. I threw all of those ingredients, along with three carrots, a handful of walnuts, a handful of almonds, and about 1/3 of an onion into the Vitamix. After blending I added a few handfuls of rolled oats to thicken the mixture, then into the 350 degree oven this went. I baked it for 45 minutes and had a piece for lunch – it was actually really good!

I used to be intimidated about making veggie and/or bean burgers and loaves, but I realize now all you need are good spices and enough cornmeal/breadcrumbs/oats to make the whole thing stick together and you’re good to go.

Mmm, lunch

Here’s another piece that I cut out and put on top of the salad I’ll eat for lunch tomorrow. (The salad also has Spring Mix, jicama, grapes, grilled eggplant and artichokes, and I put a bunch of organic (and HFCS-free) ketchup on top of the loaf after I took this picture.)

The grilled eggplant for tomorrow’s salad?

Bam!

I washed and sliced the eggplant, sprinkled salt on all the slices, layered it in a colander, and set some heavy pots on it for an hour to drain. After knocking off the excess salt I decided instead of making my own marinade, I’d pour on some Madras Simmer Sauce from Seeds of Change. I let it sit for about 30 minutes, then used the grill side of my skillet to cook these babies up, about six minutes each side.

Because I can never leave well enough alone, I decided to also try to make a baked oat dish to eat as a quick breakfast this week. When Anthony and I were visiting friends in Oahu in 2008, they brought us to a cute little place for breakfast, and this cute little place had something called “oatmeal pancakes”. My friend warned me they weren’t like normal pancakes; they were thick and more like a slab than a flat disk. I ordered them anyways, and I really liked them! I thought I’d try to recreate that dish.

A sea of oats

Ooh, close up

To make this dish, I first cooked up a giant pot of oats:

Please sir, may I have some more?

This contains 1.5 cups old-fashioned oats, scant 3 cups water, two smashed ripe bananas, 1/4 cup raisins, and 2 tablespoons flaxseed meal.

While this cooked I mixed together the dry ingredients:

1/2 cup white whole wheat flour, smidgen of salt, 1/2 teaspoon each of the baking sisters, powder and soda, copious amounts of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of nutmeg.

Once the oats were cooked and cooled a bit, I added the flour mixture in, then I poured the whole shebang into a lightly oiled 8×8 casserole. I cooked it for 20  minutes at 350 degrees.

I haven’t tasted the oat cake yet, but I figure this will give me four servings and in the morning I can cut a piece, heat it up, and add whatever toppings I desire. I can tell you I will desire almond butter. If this turns out not to taste great, it’s straight into the freezer it goes, where it can be used for some other FrankenJen cooking project!

Happy Sunday.

Leave a Reply

