Skip to content

Goals and Pudding

May 21, 2010

Whoa! I have majorly slacked off in my blogging duties, not to mention my goals for the month of May. However, I’m okay with that. Last week I realized how much pressure I was putting on myself to do, do, do. And that sucked, sucked, sucked. I was making myself unhappy by trying to save as much money as possible, work towards career goals as much as possible, and in general be as productive as possible. No bueno.

So. In the last week I’ve spent money on shopping for lovely clothes that I’m so happy with, I went to a gathering of a young group of locals from the county, I went to an awards ceremony where one of the volunteers that works for the center where I work was presented with an “Outstanding Volunteer of the Year award”, and today I’m going to hang out with my friend, Amy, who just had her wisdom teeth out yesterday. I’m bringing her pudding.

I’m re-assessing my thoughts on goal-setting. I have always thrived on goals, but I am wondering if it’s time to take a break from all that. I have a job that I really enjoy, it’s summertime, I’m starting to get out in the community quite a bit more and am meeting more people, I’m going on a camping trip soon, and I’m having much more fun not worrying about my career and how much money I have saved. I’m not normally one who will cut loose and not worry about stuff, but I’d like to have more of that in my life. However, I will not be setting that as a goal, because then I’ll most likely put a ridiculous amount of pressure one myself to not worry!

Even last night I dreamed about blogging, or rather the fact that I hadn’t been blogging. I felt like I didn’t know what I had to say, and didn’t know what my niche was. I guess I’m just going to blog when I feel like it about what I feel like talking about.

I’ve got to go now, as it’s time to prepare for Operation Pudding. Have a great Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 9:41 am

    Welcome back!! And good outlook 🙂 Maybe we can grab coffee one day next week?!

Leave a Reply

