Skip to content

Half-Assed Pajama Yoga

May 14, 2010

Tina and Kate are hosting a blog wide Yoga Pose Challenge and I decided I want to participate. Mind you, I haven’t taken a yoga class in years and one time when I was trying to do yoga at home I pulled something and it hurt to breathe. That was about 6 years ago. I want to do yoga, though, so I thought this challenge would inspire me.

I was assigned the supported shoulder stand pose. When I saw that I thought, “huh?”, but thank God for the Internet, right? (Is it weird that both “God” and “Internet” get the same privilege of an uppercase first letter? It seems like God should get something more. But I digress.) Once I saw the pose I realized I could do it and was familiar with it. When I say “I could do it” I mean I can do it like this:

I know you tuck your pajama pants into your socks, too

Even though Yoga Journal says it should look like this:

Maybe I could do that if I lived in an entirely white room?

And to make up for my lake of skills, I smiled:

I love those slippers. I love being in my pajamas.

I was actually happy I got this pose. Once I figured out what it was, I realized that when I was growing up my best friend and I used to do this all the time on the floor in her living room. I have no idea why we did it, but we did. I’m sure my form was just as terrible then as it is now.

The good news is I am strongly considering joining one of the two gyms around here, and both offer yoga classes (and Zumba, and Pilates) and maybe I can actually improve my form?

I’m headed off to go shopping! Yay!

How’s your yoga form??

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 10:55 am

    I had trouble with this one also. You have to really be a pro at yoga to be that straight up and down.

  2. May 14, 2010 3:30 pm

    My yoga form is a lot like yours.

    I think all kids did this pose at some point. It’s just a kid-type of thing to stick your feet in the air. I know I used to do it all the time for no apparent reason.

  3. May 14, 2010 7:28 pm

    My yoga form isn’t spectacular. I think it takes a true yoga pro to be perfect at most of the poses. I guess that’s why they say one is “practicing” yoga.

  4. May 18, 2010 12:46 pm

    I’ve taken to doing yoga in my pjs too! I’ve finally gotten back to doing some light “AM Yoga” and have found a huge difference in my back/neck! I took today off and already my neck hurts!!!

  5. May 20, 2010 3:12 pm

    haha! I love the title of your post!

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga Pose May Recap « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

