Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day in a Plastic Bag!

May 9, 2010

Happy Mother’s Day! I myself am only a cat mom, but I know plenty of mom’s, some of whom are celebrating their very first Mother’s Day this year. Exciting stuff!

We had my mom and step dad over for brunch to celebrate. Before making brunch, though, I whipped up a bunch of Super Charge Me! Cookies from Drena Burton’s Eat, Drink, and be Vegan. I had to make some substitutions for things I didn’t have, but this is what they looked like when I was through:

My mom’s been concerned about her magnesium intake lately, and between the almond butter, flax seed meal, and the pumpkin seeds I put in, these puppies have over 40 grams per cookie!

I then packaged them up as lovingly as I could:

My decorations are high class, right? Cookies in a bag with some yarn tied around them. Happy Mother’s Day.

For the actual meal I made fruit salad, also served super classy style:

I made vegan blueberry pancakes, some banana nut waffles, and Anthony also cooked bacon. I have no pictures of any of that stuff, though, so use your imagination!

It’s another beautiful day out, though a bit chillier than it has been, and I may just spend my day reading and basking in the day’s Sunday-ness.
What are you doing today?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

