Skip to content

I Don’t Know About You, But Cinco De Mayo Always Reminds Me of Hot Apple Crisp

May 5, 2010

Last night I made apple crisp. I first fell in love with apple crisp in March, 1979, via umbilical cord. Or at least I assume my mom must have eaten it while she was pregnant with me, because this is one of my favorite treats of all time.

The recipe my mom made while I was growing up is from an old Betty Crocker cookbook. I don’t often make it, mostly because the cookbook belongs to my mom and despite having written down the recipe multiple times, I can never, ever find it.

The reason I was able to make it last night is that I went to my mom’s house, wrote down the recipe on an index card, and managed to hold on to the index card for 5 whole days without losing it. (Why didn’t I just put it in my recipe box when I got home? Not enough of a challenge, my friends, not enough of a challenge.) And what was my great motivation in this apple crisp pursuit?

My stepdad Joe’s 70th birthday is today. (Happy birthday, Joe!)

I am in charge of birthday cake making (and apple crisp making, Italian Christmas cookie making, lasagna making, quiche making, veggie shepherd’s pie making, bread baking, booty shaking, etc) and this year Joe requested apple crisp. My belief is that he requested this very traditional Cinco de Mayo treat because it can be smothered in tons of melty vanilla ice cream. Joe lives for an excuse to eat ice cream.

I would share the recipe for the crisp, and a picture too, but I can’t. The recipe isn’t mine and the picture is, well, not somewhere that I can get my hands on it.

Let’s just say this: the crisp has Granny Smith apples, white whole wheat flour, rolled oats, cinnamon, nutmeg in it, plus enough sugar and oil for you to open your very own fast food chain. (No, I was not gifted with the ability to come up with quick and funny metaphors. That gift was given to my evil twin sister, who is like a…well, I guess I’m not good with similes, either. Also I’m an only child.)

I am very much looking forward to this evening. Before apple-crisp inhaling we are going to a Mexican restaurant that I love, Papas and Beer. My excitement about these two food events is only being hampered by the fact that I can barely chew.

Am I having denture problems? Nay.

Was my jaw wired shut after that bar brawl last weekend? Nay.

I bit my cheek a couple of days ago. It.hurts.so.bad. Right now I’ve got a piece of banana in my mouth that I’m basically sucking on like a hard candy, hoping it will eventually get small and soft enough for me to swallow. It took me 40 minutes to eat a bowl of oatmeal this morning.

If only I could be fed umbilically again.

What are you doing for Cinco de Mayo? What’s your favorite dessert that you ate growing up?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 8:05 pm

    Well since I love mexican food, we’re making fish tacos to celebrate Cinco de Mayo. I’m not sure if they’d use fish in Mexico, but it’s a healthy option so we’re going for it.

    I’d say my favorite dessert growing up was a warm chocolate chip cookie- who am I kidding it still is!

Leave a Reply

