Skip to content

Carrot Cake Cookies & Coco

May 4, 2010

Last Friday afternoon I came home to find Anthony’s van in the driveway, which was weird, since I thought he’d still be at work. I was even more surprised when I walked into the house and my living room had been stripped of all wall art and decor and all of the furniture was pushed to the middle and covered in plastic. Anthony had decided to paint.

Luckily, Coconut still had no problem making herself at home.

Ah, plastic is so comfortable!

What?

Since Anthony was occupied and I had nowhere to sit all weekend, I plucked my eyebrows. No, wait, that doesn’t sound like me. Oh, I know, I made things in the kitchen!

Anthony had requested carrot cake last week, and since he was working so hard I figured I should oblige him.

I don't think he likes it.

This picture was taken the morning after the day I made the cake. I completed it around 3 pm and he had his first piece by around 4 pm. By 10 pm it looked like this. Why is it that he can eat this much cake and not feel guilty and not gain weight? I don’t understand men!

I would give you the recipe except I got it from allrecipes.com years ago and it doesn’t belong to me. I did change it a little bit, and I can’t find the original recipe on the site right now, but I will say it’s very close to this one. The things I do different are only use one cup of oil instead of a cup and a half, use 3 cups carrots instead of 2 3/4, and I don’t use walnuts or coconut. I use this cream cheese frosting. I did halve the cake recipe when I made this for Anthony, because he will eat it all and I don’t want to be responsible for his high cholesterol!

Anywho, I knew I wouldn’t be eating the carrot cake, so I decided to make my own carrot cake goodness while I was putting together his cake:

wahoo!

Carrot Cake Cookies (Vegan!)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Sprinklings of allspice and nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup organic Florida Crystals sugar
  • 3 small organic carrots, grated or put through the food processor
  • 1 tbl ground flax seed meal
  • 3 tbl water
  • 1 tbl canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup crushed pineapple in juice
  • raisins – maybe 1/4 cup, probably less

Directions:

  1. Mix all of the dry ingredients (flour through sugar) together in a bowl
  2. Mix flax seed meal and water in food processor and mix them together for a few seconds.
  3. Add carrots and grind them up to a grated or pulpy state, but do not completely destroy them.
  4. Add other liquid ingredients (through vanilla) and gently blend.
  5. Add pineapple to liquid mix and stir by hand
  6. Pour wet into dry, blend gently
  7. Add in raisins
  8. Drop spoonfuls onto cookie sheet (makes 12) and cook in preheated 350 degree oven for 12 minutes.

The reason these cookies are on wax paper is two fold. One, they are soft and I was about to transfer them to the freezer, and wax paper makes taking them off later easier. They’re too soft, really, but they taste so damn good you won’t care. I think if I made them again (and why wouldn’t I?) I’d add another 1/4 cup of flour or take something else out. Two, as mentioned above, they taste so damn good. Putting them in the freezer makes them less accessible and I wanted to have some left at the end of the day!

How Much It Cost:

By my extremely rough estimates, these cookies cost about a buck to make. And I was using the fancy organic sugar and more expensive King Arthur white whole wheat flour, so I’m sure you could make ’em even cheaper if you so desired. That means each cookie cost 8 cents.

The problem with doing these cost analysis things is that when Anthony and I go out to eat now, I can’t help but thing how expensive it is! We went to Doc Chey’s ( I got the Japanese Spinach Soba bowl with tofu, OMG it was delicious) on Friday night and our meal was cheap by dining-out standards, I think it was around 22 dollars. My dish was 8 bucks, but Anthony also had an iced tea and an appetizer, so that pushed the price up a bit. He was marveling over how inexpensive it was and I was thinking “My dinner cost 8 bucks!!! I could have had four dinners at home for that amount of money!”

Don’t get me wrong: I love going out to eat and our dining experience was part of a lovely spring evening in Asheville, I am just noticing that meals and treats made at home are really so much more cost efficient. It is possible to eat well at home on a budget, most definitely.

Where’s your favorite place to dine out?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

