Skip to content

Secret Ingredient Sweet Potato Bread

April 30, 2010

Yesterday afternoon I noticed I had some things in my fridge that I really had to eat or make into something else, lest they be shoved into the freezer to be forgotten about for all eternity.

So I made this:

(I was trying to get all creative like Kath with the outdoor shots.)

Secret Ingredient Sweet Potato Bread

Aren’t you dying to know what the secret ingredient is? Is it pixie dust? Cat hair? Gin? Ground up shoe leather?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups pineapple, chopped (That’s the secret ingredient. Sort of anticlimactic, eh?)
  • 2 smallish sweet potatoes, baked
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
  • 1/3 cup plain old water
  • One cup white whole wheat flour
  • One cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Sprinkle each ginger, nutmeg, allspice, cloves
  • 1/4 cup each raisins, pumpkin seeds, chopped walnuts

Directions:

  1. Get out your food processor or blender. No, I didn’t know that yours broke last week. I’m sorry to hear that. Go buy another one so you can make this bread.
  2. Gently place the sweet potatoes (sans skins), pineapple chunks, flax seeds and water in blender and turn it on. Keep it on until mixture is completely blended and resembles baby food.
  3. Meanwhile, in another container, blend all dry ingredients, with the exception of the raisins, walnuts, and sunflower seeds.
  4. Pour baby food mix into dry ingredients. Blend until just combined!
  5. Gently add in the raisins and stuff. You could put whatever nut, dried fruit, or chocolate deliciousness you wanted to in here instead
  6. Lightly oil a 4×9 bread pan and pour mixture in
  7. Cook in pre heated 350 degree oven for 35 minutes or until the steak knife you stick in it comes out clean

Even Anthony loved this, and he can be weird about my healthy baked goods. The pineapple taste isn’t noticeable once this loaf is baked, but it sweetens the bread so that no refined sugar is needed.
Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 6:53 am

    oh that bread looks amazing!

    and to answer your question – I plan the meals out for the week, but not for each day – so out of the 5 or 6 meals we plan, I usually am in the mood for at least some of them each night. Plus, we’re always using new recipes so we don’t actually get too bored and usually end up sticking with “most” of them! 🙂

  2. May 1, 2010 5:40 pm

    Pineapple is such a great ingredient! It adds sweetness and moistness without the extra sugar 😉

    Oh – before I forget, you had asked me a question about the scale the other time and I just wanted to say that your comment totally resonated with me – I’m the same way! I feel like I couldn’t give up the scale COMPLETELY but it was definitely an eye-opener. I think the reason why I’ve never had a problem with it before is that pre-training, I never really had weight fluctuations much (it either went up or down but for good you know?), and since I’ve started training there’s been a lot of fluctuations!

Leave a Reply

