Skip to content

Vegan Peanut Butter Cake (& How Much It Cost)

April 29, 2010

Last night I wanted cake. Sort of random, but I went with it. Whilst I was putting together said cake, I tried to remember what was going in so I could put it on the blog. Let’s see if I can remember everything:

Vegan Peanut Butter Cake

Drool!

Ingredients:

  • One ripe banana, mashed up real good
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 cup ish milk alternative of your choice, I used unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze
  • Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • One cup white whole wheat flour or whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • Generous shake o’ cinnamon, just ’cause I put it in everything
  • 1/3 cup Florida Crystals all natural sugar

Directions:

  1. Mix ye olde dry ingredients together in a bowl
  2. Mix them thar wet ingredients together really, really well
  3. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients – if batter is too thick, add some more milk alternative, but don’t over stir
  4. Pour into 8×8 pan (I didn’t spray mine and it was fine, but if you want to, go for it) and stick into a preheated 350 degree over. Cook 25-28 minutes, or until toothpick or other poking device of your choice comes out clean
  5. OPTIONAL: I wanted some more goodness (or sugar, in this case) on top, so I did the following steps.
  6. Mix a couple of tablespoons milk alternative with a tablespoon of peanut butter and a tablespoon of sugar, heat it up if need to be to make a nice loose glaze.
  7. Poke holes in cake and pour on peanut butter mixture
  8. Melt 1/2 oz baker’s chocolate with a couple of tablespoons milk alternative and a tablespoon of sugar, mix together and pour on cake

Guess I shoulda taken a picture before I took a couple bites?

This turned out really, really delicious. I think the secret to vegan cakes is using vinegar of some sort. This was moist and delicious and probably didn’t need the extra stuff on top, though the peanut butter and chocolate did make the cake very tasty.

And just for fun: How much it cost

I figure the total for all of the ingredients in this cake is around $2.15 without glaze, $2.53 with glazes. OH MY GOSH STUFF IS SO MUCH CHEAPER TO MAKE AT HOME!!!! Depending on who you’re feeding, this cake serves 8-12. That’s, on the low end (cake without glaze, 12 servings) 18 cents per serving or, on the high end (cake with glaze, 8 servings) 32 cents per serving!

How much did you pay for a piece of cake last time you were at a restaurant? Probably at least $4.00, right? Incredible, I say!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. eatgoodstuff permalink
    April 29, 2010 11:13 am

    Oh my gosh, that looks sooo good!
    I feel like you can’t go wrong with peanut butter, bananas, and cake… there is no way!

    • April 29, 2010 11:49 am

      I agree, you can never, ever go wrong with peanut butter and bananas and cake! I’m looking forward to eating a piece this afternoon….

  2. April 29, 2010 2:36 pm

    I love how gooey the chocolate is! delicious

  3. April 29, 2010 8:05 pm

    oh that looks delicious!

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:52 pm

    wow thanks for including the financial stats- you’re a great shopper! I’m trying to budget groceries but it’s a tough thing
    Katherine

  5. May 1, 2010 5:37 pm

    Oh YUM!!!!!!!! Honestly I never knew (until about a month ago) what an awesome cook you are!!!

Leave a Reply

