Skip to content

Cooking Extravaganza!

April 27, 2010

It was a cooking extravaganza in my kitchen Sunday morning! I baked three sweet potatoes, made some wheat berries, navy beans, a weird chocolate thing, Spicoli burgers, spinach and artichoke bean dip, and spinach and artichoke bean burgers. And maybe something else? Oh, I soaked some dates for the weird chocolate thing. I think that’s it, but I can’t remember anymore; it’s all an incredibly fun blur. And, lucky you, I’m going to post a couple recipes.

This is an up close and personal shot of a Spicoli Burger, out of Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink, And Be Vegan. I will not be posting the recipe because it’s from a cookbook and that would be wrong (I think?), but some other brave soul has posted it here, if you want to check it out. The things that I did differently are that I used half a cup of pumpkin seeds instead of hempnut seeds, and I didn’t cook the veggies in oil, I just used water. Also, I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes instead of frying them. Once I finished them up I put them on a baking sheet and stuck them in the freezer, so now I’ve got 6 for the week. (Recipe made 8 for me; I brought two to my mom.)

When I named this picture file, I called it “Spin Art Dip”. Do you remember Spin Art?

According to one website I saw, “Spin Art is a perfect addition to every party, large or small.” Hmmm. I’m not sure that’s true, although I could probably get into it. Anyways, I think my Spinach Artichoke bean dip most definitely would be a welcome addition to every party, large or small. As long as the party is in my mouth.

Spinach Artichoke Bean Dip:

  • One cup dry Navy or other white beans (soak overnight and cook; should yield just over two cups cooked beans)
  • Can of artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed
  • Two cloves garlic, roasted in the oven until soft
  • Big handful spinach, cooked in water until wilted
  • 1-2 oz roasted red peppers and red pepper liquid
  • 1 heaping tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 1 heaping tablespoon almond butter or other nut butter
  • Some salt
  • Some pepper

Directions:

  1. After the beans are cooked, stick them, along with all of the other ingredients, in a blender. Or food processor. Or Vitamix. Or, if you’re particularly sadistic, I suppose you could mash it up by hand. Good luck with that.
  2. If you want, pour into a small casserole dish and bake at 350 until the top gets crusty, about 25 minutes.

The reason the picture I took features the dish of dip half empty is that I took 1/4 of the dip out to bring to my mother and 1/4 of the dip out to make two of these:

Spinach Artichoke Bean Burger

This might look slightly odd, because I didn’t take a picture of it until after I’d stuck it in the freezer in preparation to store it. So, perhaps it looks a bit frosty.

Directions:

  1. To make two burgers: Take 1/4 of the Spinach Artichoke Bean Dip and put it in a bowl.
  2. Throw in a small handful of rolled oats and a small handful of whole wheat flour.
  3. Mix it together.
  4. Stick it in the fridge to firm up.
  5. Make two patties out of it.
  6. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes.

Last but not least:

Weird Chocolate Things

Ingredients:

  • One medium sweet potato, baked, skin removed
  • About half a cup of dates, soaked overnight or if you’re short on time and patience like me, soaked for 30 minutes in some hot water
  • Tablespoon ground flax seeds
  • One-two tablespoons coffee, optional
  • One cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp or so salt
  • 6 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • Water to moisten up this bad boy

Directions:

  1. Throw sweet potato, dates, date soaking water, optional coffee, and ground flax seeds into super fast blendy thingy of your choice. Sorry, no hand mashing for these puppies. (Or any puppies, that would not feel good to the puppies.)
  2. Blend until smooth and creamy, like baby food or something.
  3. In a bowl, combine cocoa powder, flour, and salt.
  4. Pour wet into dry. If the mix is too dry, add water until you get a batter that is a thick, slightly fudgy consistency.
  5. Pour mix into 8×8 pan.
  6. Cook at 350 for 20 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven, let cool, and cut into 16 squares. These don’t get completely firm; they stay a very fudgy texture. That is why I call them “Weird Chocolate Things”. Stick them in the freezer and they firm up more, but are still soft enough to eat. And delicious. Stick one in the microwave and get a warm, gooey treat. No added sugar or fat, just yumminess. If you like stuff that’s weird. Which obviously I do.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 5:33 pm

    I’m at a loss for words… how can so many awesome recipes be in one post??? I just bookmarked your whole post under “lots of cool recipes” šŸ˜€ I’m definitely looking for some meals that I can make over the week-end to have enough for the rest of the week šŸ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. Zumba Roomba « Recipes For Creativity
  2. Freezer Loaf and Other Oddities from FrankenJen « Recipes For Creativity

Leave a Reply

