Skip to content

How Much It Cost: Sweet and Sour Stir fry

April 24, 2010

I swear I’m going to blog about something other than how much my groceries and meals cost, but it’s kinda fun for me, so I’m just going to go ahead and post another one!

Sort of Sweet and Sour Stir fry

Looks good, doesn’t it?

Ingredients:

  • Scant 2/3 cup brown rice (at the bottom, you can’t see it!)
  • Leftover baked tofu from my dinner last night at  Lulu’s (but you can buy or make your own baked tofu, too)
  • 1/2 cup or so pineapple
  • Some roasted red peppers
  • 3/4 cup broccoli florets
  • Onion
  • Soy sauce
  • Cider vinegar (or rice wine vinegar)
  • Maple syrup or other sweetener
  • Corn starch (optional)

Here’s what I did:

  1. My pineapple was fresh, so I cut it up and squeezed some of the juice out into the pan for some liquid. And I put the pineapple in, too!
  2. Turn burner up to medium
  3. Add some soy sauce, a little bit of maple syrup, and some cider vinegar. I’ll try to get better at telling you the amounts, I promise. (My fingers were crossed when I typed that.)
  4. Add onion
  5. Cook pineapple and onion until onion is tender
  6. Add broccoli florets, roasted red peppers, and tofu
  7. If you want to thicken up the sauce a bit, dissolve some corn starch into cold water and put it in the pan, too.
  8. Coat all the veggies and tofu with sauce
  9. Cover and cook another 4 minutes or so, until broccoli is bright green
  10. Microwave brown rice or throw in pan with the rest
  11. Eat.

Mine could have used a little more sweet and a little more salty, but the sweetie pie used up most of the maple syrup with his breakfast and I was too lazy to get up and get more soy sauce. It was tasty though!

On to how much it cost:

About $1.88

I’m kind of fudging here, because I genuinely have no idea how much the soy sauce I put in the pan cost. I mean, I used so little I think it would be impossible to completely calculate. The roasted red peppers were pricey in this entrée, I think cutting up red pepper from fresh would be more cost effective. The tofu was the other pricey item, if I had made it myself. Since it was leftover from my dinner (that Anthony paid for) it was technically free for me. But I still calculated the price based on if I had made it myself from a block of tofu.

I’m pretty impressed with how much the meals I’ve figured out so far have cost. Nothing over $2.00 yet. I’m pretty sure my breakfasts are even cheaper.

I love to go out to eat, and I admit my dinner is often paid for, but when I compare in black and white how much cheaper it is to eat in…well, it’s easy to see how many people could keep some bank.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

