Skip to content

How Much It Cost: Groceries April 23rd

April 23, 2010

Hello!

I thought it would fun to post what groceries I bought for the week, how much it all cost me, and some of the ways I plan to use what I bought in the seven days ahead.

I shopped at both Walmart and the local grocery store, Ingles. Before you get all crazy about me shopping at Walmart, let me just say: I know. I know, I really do. However, when they are selling strawberries for $1, pineapples for $2, and organic carrots for 88 cents, it’s hard for me to pass up.

Here’s what I got at Walmart:

  • 10 oz Organic Spinach, $4.88 ($4.88!!!)
  • Pineapple, $2.00
  • 2 16 oz packages strawberries, $2.00 total
  • 2 Mangoes, $2.00 total
  • 32 oz Brown Rice, $1.52 (20 servings in this bag, that breaks down to less than 8 cents per serving. DO NOT tell me you cannot afford to eat whole grains!
  • 15 oz Low Sodium Soy Sauce, $2.56
  • 42 oz Old Fashioned Oats, $ $2.24 (Again, this is 30 servings and ends up costing less than 8 cents per serving. LESS THAN 8 CENTS PER SERVING! You can afford a healthy breakfast!)
  • Cinnamon, $1.78 (forgot to put it in the picture)
  • 8 oz unsweetened chocolate, $2.47 (I actually eat this with fruit, as a normal person would eat a chocolate bar. Not for the faint of heart. It was really funny when Anthony tried to do the same…he spit it out all over the place.)
  • 16 oz bag organic carrots, $.88

Total spent, with taxes: $22.78

Here’s what I bought at Ingles:

  • 15 oz container dried apricots, $3.74 (kind of a splurge, but I’ve really wanted apricots lately!)
  • 2 parsnips so I can make Parsnip Fries, $2.18
  • Eggplant, $2.12
  • Red Bell Pepper, $2.50
  • Pumpkin Seeds, $2.67 (A bunch of these items are so I can make Spicoli Burgers from Eat, Drink, and be Vegan. Gina from Fitnessista made these the other day and I thought, “Hey, I have that cookbook, I should make something from it instead of making up random things in my brain that don’t always work out.” Unfortunately, the recipe calls for hempnut seeds and I couldn’t find them where I live, so I’m hoping pumpkin seeds will do the trick!)
  • Wheatberries, $1.16 (just want to try them out)
  • Whole Wheat Pitas, 6-pack, $1.48
  • Almond butter ground up from one of those machines in the store, $2.64
  • Yellow Onion, $.50

Total spent, with taxes: $19.37

Grand Total: $42.15

I’d like to make a few (more) points about the items I bought, and about my grocery shopping in general:

  • I live with a man. Said man will eat some of the vegan/vegetarian things I prepare for him, but not all. Also, he eats many, many things that I do not eat. The food that I purchased today will be consumed primarily by me, although some of it will be eaten by him as well. Things even out, because he sometimes buys things we both eat, too. In fact, he bought a bunch of bananas the other night, and I’m quite certain I’ll eat a few. And he also recently bought mushrooms and green peppers. And sometimes I drink his seltzer when he’s not looking 🙂 I’m quite  comfortable with the arrangement.
  • I have some leftover things from last week that will supplement this shopping trip. For instance, I’ve got a little bit of leftover tempeh and tofu that I baked, I’ve got lentils, white beans, pinto beans, possibly black beans, nutritional yeast, artichokes, the ingredients to make a loaf of whole wheat bread, raisins, dates, broccoli, more carrots, frozen kale, frozen bananas, sweet potatoes, cocoa powder, sun dried tomatoes, organic lettuce, and probably more that will augment what I bought this week. And some of the stuff I bought this week will probably augment next week!
  • I realize this list might look really, really skimpy to some of you. I’m not comfortable eating animal products at this time, though there is cheese, bacon, turkey, and eggs in my fridge right now, courtesy of Anthony. Therefore, I make most of meals out of veggies, beans, tempeh, grains, etc. Also, I LOVE to cook, so when I spend a good part of my Sunday baking sweet potatoes, roasting vegetables, baking bread, cooking up a pot of brown rice, and making other tasty things for the week, my fridge will look like it’s bursting.
  • I realize not everyone would be comfortable living this way, or spending so little on groceries. For me, it works. I want to show everyone that you can get plenty of produce in your diet, while living on a budget, if you’re willing to do the work.

How do you stay on track with spending?

Leave a Reply

