Skip to content

Creamy Pasta Bake

April 20, 2010

Last night I made a really delicious pasta dish.

Begging you kindly to ignore the baked on brown gunk on sides of dish.

I don’t know what to call it, so I’m going with “Cream Pasta Bake”. Of course, there is no cream to be found. It is smooth, yummy, a little tangy, a little tomatoey.

Creamy Pasta Bake (serves four of me)

  • 4 oz whole wheat pasta of choice (I think it was about four ounces…you know how I am about measuring)
  • 1/2 a big onion
  • juice of half a lemon
  • garlic powder, a bunch
  • some salt
  • some pepper
  • Roasted red peppers, about 1/4 cup
  • 2 T nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup – cup tomato sauce of choice
  • Handfuls of spinach
  • T ground flaxseed meal, optional

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cook pasta according to package directions. Make sure it’s al dente, not al mushy.
  3. Saute the chopped onion on a non stick pan for about five minutes.
  4. Throw onion and all of the rest of the ingredients, except pasta, spinach and pasta sauce, in a blender or food processor or other fast choppy machine until it’s all blended up. It will probably look neon orange like the fake cheese powder in a Kraft Macaroni & Cheese package, but I promise it tastes much better.
  5. Stir in your tomato sauce – just use what feels and tastes right. You might the tomato flavor subtle, you might want it strong.
  6. Pour pasta into 2 qt casserole. Add sauce and spinach, and mix all together until it resembles something you’d want to eat.
  7. If you’d like, sprinkle some flaxseed meal on top, it’s good that way.
  8. Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes.
  9. Serve and enjoy!

Mmmmmmm

This was my serving, and in the background are some carrot fries. Yet another thing I’ve picked up in blog world. I cut up three carrots, threw them on a cookie sheet, and cooked them on 425 until I took them out…maybe 25 minutes? I ate them with ketchup. They were good.

How Much It Cost

I am really interested in breaking down how much some of my meals cost. I feel I do a pretty good job of living on a budget and still eating well, and it’s important to me to show people healthy eating does not have to be incredibly expensive. This meal could have used some more green, but I had a green monster with kale this afternoon and salad at lunch, so I was okay with the orange plate I prepared myself.

Creamy Pasta Bake: I am sort of winging it here, but I think the casserole, which makes four servings, cost about $6.16, making each serving $1.54.

Carrot Fries: Maybe .50? I buy organic carrots for $1.38 a bag, and this was probably only a quarter of a bag, so perhaps this was closer to .40.

Meal total: $1.94, plus the electricity to cook it! I had whole grains, vegetables, protein, and yumminess all for less than two bucks. Can you beat that at McDonalds? I don’t think so.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 9:11 am

    LOVE the cost analysis!!! That recipe sounds delicious- I love the addition of the cashews!! 🙂

  2. April 20, 2010 9:46 am

    Oh yum that looks good!!

    I love the you sneaked in some extra veggies – I’m all about doing that!

    And I love the cost analysis too, although I don’t spend nearly enough time thinking about it that’s for sure…

Leave a Reply

