Skip to content

Cocoa Oaty Yummies

April 19, 2010

Reason One

 

Reason Two

 

This is why I didn’t make it to the gym this morning. My cats, Nola (top) and Coconut (bottom) were sleeping on me in bed in such a way that my arms, including the wrist where my alarm clock watch permanently resides, were pinned under layers of sheets and comforters and cats. It’s hard to hear an alarm through all that fur!  

I didn’t over sleep for work, because that would be impossible for a girl who, when she “sleeps in”, gets out of bed by 7:15. I just am too late for the gym. I’m a little bummed out because I was going to try High Intensity Interval Training. It seems to be all the rage in blog world and it sounded like fun. It will have to wait until after work or another day, I’m afraid.  

Notice my relaxed attitude about  missing a workout? Good. I had an active weekend, including a few walks, some strength training, and some hot-tubbing. That counts as exercise, right?  

Moving on, last week I made some bizarre concoction that involves cocoa powder and bananas and sweet potatoes, but no sugar, so I thought I’d share it. Of course, I never measure anything or write it down, either, so this is the closest approximation I can come up with at the present moment.  

Cocoa Oaty Yummies  

  • One large or two small sweet potatoes, baked and mashed
  • One super duper ripe banana, mashed
  • Scant cup of rolled oats
  • Scant cup of whole wheat pastry flour, white whole wheat flour, or whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup ish cocoa powder
  • tsp baking soda
  • tsp baking powder
  • Big sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Little sprinkle of salt
  • Water leftover from soaking dates (optional, can use no liquid, water, or milk alternative, if desired)

Mashed Sweet Potato and Banana

 1. Put the mashed up yummy stuff in a bowl. My bowl is ugly and plastic, so if anyone wants to know what to get me for my birthday, some nice bowls would be good. And some nice knives. And a new windshield for my truck. And…oh, sorry. 

Add some Coco. I mean, cocoa.

 2. Add the cocoa and other dry ingredients. Come to think of it, this might be more than a 1/3 cup of cocoa. I like my chocolate dark, though.   

Sweetness

 

 3. If the mixture is too thick, you have some options: ask yourself, “Too thick for what? This would make lovely grout for my bathtub?” Or you could drop them by heaping tablespoons onto a cookie sheet and make cookies out of them. I wanted to make bars out of them, so I added some leftover soak water from a pile of dates I was softening up. This added some sweetness, but I don’t think it was necessary. 

4. Pour contents into an 8×8 baking dish, or do the cookie or tile grout thing I mentioned above. If you do the cookies, only bake ’em for 10-12 minutes. If you do bars, bake them for 16-20. You can tell when they’re done because a toothpick comes out clean. Or I assume it would, I don’t actually own any toothpicks. 

Yummy, right?

 

5. Cut them up into squares (I cut mine into 12 pieces) and enjoy! I put mine on a cookie sheet and stick them in the freezer. When they’re frozen I put them in a bag and thaw out when necessary. 

These are not super sweet, obviously. They have a nice chocolately flavor and no ingredients that would be considered “bad” for you. They have a soft texture, not dense like a brownie. They’re tasty! 

That’s all for now!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 9:19 pm

    Nice!!! Very interesting recipe, I believe i will give it a try!! 😀

    And I think it’s great that you didn’t freak out about missing your workout. I used to, but don’t anymore. I usually easily find time to fit in the retake, and to be completely honest I actually haven’t missed a workout in a while so it hasn’t bothered me 😉 Oh, I will miss being a student and having such an easy schedule!!!

    ps: thanks so much for your comment 🙂 Very insightful, and true! I’m glad I’m not the only one who tends to not share struggles too!

Leave a Reply

