Skip to content

Shark!

April 3, 2010

Remember how I ran the ING Half Marathon two weeks ago? And I said I’d post pictures. Well, I lied.

I will, however, post one picture here that was taken after the race, and amuses me.

Me, just about to cross the finish line.

Oh, actually, that was taken at the awesome Georgia Aquarium a few hours after I finished the race. This is the picture I meant to show you:

Phew. Only reason I finished is because the guy behind me kept trying to bite my limbs off.

I look tired, no? you probably can’t see it, but on my bib my name is written as “JEN!” because apparently I really like exclamation points. I used to hate them, but now I’m quite fond of them.

I would have put more pictures up, but I really don’t have any others to share. Anthony took one shortly before I crossed the finish line, but it’s blurry. Oh, you want to see it anyway? Too bad. I just really don’t like the picture, and it’s my blog, so I can do what I want. There is one really great official race photo of me, but since I’m not parting with $14.95 for one 5×7 of it, that will never see the light of day, either.

In other news, yesterday afternoon I went to my mom’s house and she and I had a lengthy discussion about food and cooking, which is pretty much my favorite subject ever. She’s been pretty much vegetarian (she eats some canned tuna once in a while) since I became a vegetarian, and even before that didn’t eat much meat. She’s must be where I got my animal love from. That didn’t sound right.

She got the book The Engine 2 Diet from the library a week or two ago and wanted to know what I thought about it, and if the recipes look good. I’m definitely the cook in the family, but she wants to start preparing more foods herself, which is lovely. Her kitchen is like a dark, forbidding cave, however, so that makes it less fun. My kitchen is like a bright, inviting cave where the dwellers have dropped pieces of chopped up onion all over the floor and made cave drawings on the cabinets with their dirty, sauce or flour-encrusted fingers.

In case you’re unfamiliar with it, the book, here’s a quick rundown from the website:

Professional athlete-turned-firefighter Rip Esselstyn is used to responding to emergencies. So, when he learned that some of his fellow Engine 2 firefighters in Austin, TX, were in dire physical condition-several had dangerously high cholesterol levels (the highest was 344!)- he sprang into action and created a life-saving plan for the firehouse. By following Rip’s program, everyone lost weight (some more than 20 lbs.), lowered their cholesterol, and improved their overall health. Now, Rip outlines his proven plan in this book. With Rip as your expert coach and motivator, you’ll transform your body and lifestyle in a month. His plant-powered eating plan is based on a diet of whole foods, including vegetables, whole grains, fruit, legumes, seeds and nuts.

He calls the diet that he and his family (father is Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn, author of Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease) follow “plant strong”. They’re vegan, but I can understand why he wants to get away from that term, since it probably scares people off easily. I also understand the terminology change, as it reflects more than just his unwillingness to consume any animal products, but rather his desire to eat whole, unprocessed foods. He’s not eating french fries, diet soda, and fake hot dogs here.

I was already familiar with the book and the plan and the website, and I told my  mom I definitely think the recipes sound good, and I do think that lifestyle is worth it for the health benefits. I’m going to make one of the recipes from it next week and give you my lowdown on how it tastes. It’s called “Macaroni and Not Cheese”, and the sauce is made with cashews, nutritional yeast, red peppers, and some other sauces.

It’s time for me to go make some pancakes…this ought to be interesting, I’m kind of making them up as I go…but I wanted to share one other thing my mother shared with me which I basically knew, but still fascinates and appalls me:

Lobbyists vs. Health

Lobbyists vs. Health

This is from the website where she found this:

In a classic case of contradictory government policy the above pyramids clearly show the inverse relationship between federal government agriculture subsidies and federal nutrition recommendations. Originally published in 2007 by Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM) in Good Medicine Magazine to outline the committee’s concern about the impending farm bill. The graphic recently resurfaced in food security circles and found its way to the Economix Blog @ The New York Times.

It really drives me crazy that so many people don’t know this, but I hope during the course of my life I can see this changed.

Pancake time! (exclamation point)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 2:20 pm

    You look great Jen!!!! Tired, but it looks like a good tired 😉 The “I just accomplished something great” tired 😀

    I’d love for the same guy to be behind me at my half 😉 Most of all if the stingray is that big lol!

Leave a Reply

