Skip to content

Mindful Friday

April 2, 2010
tags:

I feel like blogging. I’m not exactly sure about what. Sweet potato gnocchi will probably make an appearance. Sunshine will be mentioned. Cats will be petted (if only in your mind).

With my awesome and wonderful new schedule, I have Fridays off for all eternity. Unless I have a client to coach, a meeting at my current work place, or some other appointment. But mostly, I’m just off. It’s so wonderful. First of all, my week flies by so quickly that I’m shocked I’m already at another three-day weekend.

The weather here in the mountains of North Carolina has been spectacular. Considering how dangerous and scary the weather has been in Connecticut, my home state, I’m even more thrilled than usual that I live here. I didn’t full get to enjoy the weather while I was in my grey-beige box at work, but since I get out at 4:00 pm there’s still plenty of daylight. And today, sigh. I have the front and back door open (there are screen doors on my house, but both are old, shoddy, and scratched to all get out by my lovely cats, so they probably don’t do much!) and a window open and I even ate my lunch on the back porch.

I’m not sure where I’m going with all of this, because if you are stuck at work, inside because of bad weather, or hate it when I keep talking about my cats, you probably wish I’d change the subject. I’ll try.

The other day I mentioned I was going to purchase Savor: Mindful Eating, Mindful Living. I’ve only read a few chapters, but I love it. In fact, it’s probably one of the reasons I’m in such a snazzy mood today. One of the book’s many wonderful suggestions is to set an alarm or timer that goes off every hour. Each time it chimes, the mission is to take three deep breaths and bring yourself back to the present, just in case you were lost in worries about the past or present. I really like the reminder.

I like some of the tips for eating mindfully, also. I’ve been working on this one for a while, since I can inhale a plate of whatever you put in front of me (please make it vegetarian and tasty, though) in about 3 minutes flat. One of the authors’ suggestions is to smile at your food. Sounds weird, right? But it’s fun! Think about what it is you’re eating. How many ingredients are in it? Where did they come from? In my case I’m usually really happy and excited to list what I’m eating, because it’s healthy and whole and I usually made it from scratch. I suppose if I was eating pork rinds I might not be so thrilled to think about all that. Anyways, it’s a way of honoring your food. Think about it, smile at it, then start eating. Since you’ve already taken the time to acknowledge what you’re eating, you’re probably more likely to take your time eating it.

Even when I as at the gym this morning I reminded myself to be mindful. At first I was bored out of my mind on the elliptical, but I closed my eyes and felt every step and thought about how wonderful it was that I had a body that worked, lungs that can breathe in and out, a vehicle in which to drive to and from the gym with, eyes that see, etc. That quickly got me to a happy place and powered me through my workout.

How do you remind yourself to stay in the present?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 6:17 pm

    Fridays off for eternity? Sounds down right wonderful to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

