Skip to content

Best 15 Minutes of My Day

March 30, 2010

Today I woke up in a bit of a funk. I just felt off for a variety of easily and not-so-easily-identifiable reasons. The snuggle with Nola and the hug from Anthony before I left for work helped, but I still felt off.

The first thing that helped is the daughter of one of our volunteer mediators stopped in the office to say hello. She thought her dad might be here, but when he wasn’t she chatted with me a few minutes. She’s a psychotherapist, so of course I was immediately interested in her, and we talked and laughed for a few minutes about therapy and coaching until she had to go. That made me happier than I’d been the rest of the morning.

A while later, when my brain hurt from regular work stuff, I took a few minutes to finish the article I mentioned yesterday. I actually read it online, as I didn’t have the physical copy with me. You know how when you’re online, everyone wants your attention? Well, in this case it was a good thing. Oprah’s website had some links to other articles about Thich Nhat Hanh and one of them was about the new book he has out with Dr. Lilian Cheung, called Savor, Mindful Eating, Mindful Life. Holy macaroni, did this catch my interest!

In fact, I was so interested that I called the bookstore that’s on the same street where I work and asked them if they had a copy and then, doing something that’s quite the rarity for me, I asked them to hold the book. I even gave them my real name! A $25.99 hardcover book! I just don’t do things like that: I get books from the library, I borrow books, I read things online…it’s rare that I own a book. Mostly because I’m cheap, also because I don’t want to use up the precious space in my shoebox house.

After about another hour of sitting in my office, which has no windows and is painted a grey-beige (but hey, there’s a dusty fake tree in the corner! That helps!), I decided to take the plunge and go to the bookstore to get my new book.

Best 15 minutes of my day! So far, at least. The sun was shining, finally. It wasn’t exactly warm, but I wasn’t freezing, either. I walked the 6 minutes to the other end of the street to the bookstore, waited patiently behind the older woman ahead of me in line who wanted to discuss her upcoming dental appointment with the cashier, and finally got my book. I then walked happily back to work in the sunshine. Mood improved? You betcha.

I can’t wait to get into this book. I’ve made tons of positive changes in my life, have been through therapy, coaching, journaling, crying, running, etc, but the main things I still struggle with are calming my mind and learning to consistently turn to things like stretching and praying and meditating when I get anxious, as opposed to turning to things like cheddar and chocolate. That was a really long sentence.

Anyhoo, the book looks like it may be a perfect addition to my brain-library. I hope to use it both on myself and with clients and future-clients who come to me for help in the areas I seek help. Did that make sense? I believe that the problems we struggle with most are the ones we are ultimately supposed to help others with. And when I ask for help answers seem to come to me, whether it’s in the form of a friendly person walking through the door, a cat asking to snuggle, or a book that pops out at me.

I will share any interesting things I come across, I’m sure I’ll read a good bit of this tonight!

What books or people have showed up in your life at the perfect moment?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 1:22 am

    Nice post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

