Skip to content

Warming Up

March 20, 2010

It’s a Saturday at 6:49 am. I’ve finally adjusted to the time change last weekend, thank goodness!

On this morning I’m particularly excited, as we’re leaving for Atlanta in a few hours and tomorrow morning I’m running the ING Georgia Half Marathon!

I know I mentioned said half marathon waaaaaaaay back when, but I also know I’ve been long absent here.

But you know what, things are about to change. In fact, for me, some great stuff has happened and that’s why I haven’t been around for so long!

A brief time line of Jen:

January 26th, 2010: Left for California trip with Anthony. It was absolutely, completely, spectacularly amazing. We were there for three weeks, which towards the end got old, but we saw so many sights!

A taste (these photographs were all taken by my sweetie with his new camera!)

Muir Beach overlook at sunset

Muir Beach Overlook at sunset

I've seen it many times, but the Golden Gate always impresses

At Muir Woods - Look how huge that tree is!

Muir Beach Overlook at sunset

Anthony and I at Yosemite National Park

AMAZING "Tunnel View" in Yosemite, covered in clouds

Gorgeous Yosemite!

"Tunnel View" again, this time without the clouds and fog

Me on a swing at Lake Tahoe

Inspiration Point in Berkeley, California

The coast south of San Fran

Sigh. Just another beautiful California shot. Pacific Grove, this time.

Birds at Big Sur

Road to Death Valley

Us in the desert

I'm about to go climb that dune!

There are so many  more pics, but I won’t bore you to tears with them. During the three weeks we were there we used our friend’s house in Alameda (outside of San Francisco) as home base and made trips to:

  • San Francisco
  • Muir Woods, Point Reyes
  • Yosemite National Park
  • South Lake Tahoe
  • Carmel/Pacific Grove/Monterrey
  • Big Sur
  • Bakersfield and Death Valley
  • San Ramon/Mount Diablo

We saw so much, including beaches, mountains, snow, flowers, the King Tut exhibit, and on and on. It was fantastic!

The whole time we were away I was writing in my notebook. Read that post for a more complete picture, but basically I was writing about what I was doing, how I was living, what I had, as though I already had it. It made me feel really good from the beginning and it seemed like things were starting to shift for me.

Towards the end of the trip I started thinking about what I was going to do when I came home, how I was going to get coaching to work for me full time, etc. I have been saying all along I wanted to work days Monday through Thursday, that I wanted to make enough to live and travel and save, and that I wanted to help people.

BAM! On the very last full day of our trip, a friend emailed me about a 32 hour per week job opening at a non profit organization that offers mediation services to help people resolve their conflicts. I typed up a resume on the spot and sent it in, and by the next week I was interviewing, and on March 7th I started my  new job!

I really, truly believe that all the signals and desires and good vibes I sent out brought this job to me. The pay is excellent for the area that I live. The hours are Monday through Thursday, 8 am to 4pm. I get to spend a good deal of time in the office by myself, which I enjoy, and a good deal of time working with volunteers and other wonderful employees. It’s interesting, it’s helping other people, and I even get to take the three day mediation training in May, so I can also begin to mediate.

The opportunity is also especially perfect because I get to refocus on life coaching. I want to coach, I just don’t completely know what topics are my specialty (though I’m figuring it out) and I don’t know how I want my practice to look.

What I do know is that my passion for whole foods, health, exercise, and overall well-being are going to come into the light much more. Nutrition and health education are so important to me, I’m not sure why I haven’t blogged about them much or made them a big part of my coaching practice. It’s become clear to me now that I must somehow work that in.

I called this post “Warming Up” because after tomorrow’s half marathon (which I will have to warm up for) I plan on setting new fitness goals for myself, new coaching goals for myself, and sharing them all here. I miss blogging and writing and my life feels so good right now that I just want to share it!This post is just a warm up.

And since I always want to include some sort of lesson: believe that great things can happen to you. Intend for great things to happen to you! I never would have believed a job opportunity like the one I found would have existed, as it seemed to good to be true. However, it found me! I sent out my wishes and good intentions and, after some time, it came back to me! It can happen to you, too, whether it concerns love, money, a career, a new tattoo, whatever!

Be well!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 9:46 am

    What nice pictures!

Leave a Reply

