Skip to content

Coco Say Relax

January 5, 2010

You know how I made one of my goals for 2010 to relax about money? I’m happy to say that’s going well. You know what’s happening though? I’m finding other things to worry about.

I spent a few mornings praying/thinking/meditating about relaxing on money. So far, so good. Apparently, though, my mind is currently hardwired to worry about something, even if I remove the main topic of worry.

Is Nola in the road? Was that a sneeze I just heard out of Coco? Did that extra spoonful of peanut butter negate my 4 mile run? Am I having heart palpitations? Is Sarah Palin going to run for president?

You get the idea. It’s always something.

Imagine, if you will, how wonderful it would be to feel relaxed about every single thing in your life. Most people completely freak out about this when they really start thinking about it, assuming that if they relaxed about money, career, weight, nutrition, love, or deadlines that they would become total slackers and slobs.

In my experience, it’s just not true. Let’s take dieting, for example, since so many people are starting them for the new year.

Not Relaxed Dieting:

Your well-intentioned but stressed-out brain: No! Stop looking at those cookies! Go run around the parking lot for a lap to take your mind off food! You have to lose 6 pounds this month! No one will ever love you with those cellulite-speckled logs you call thighs! Run faster! Knees to chin!

Your “wild child” brain, which wants to break the rules: Damn you and your stupid rules! I’m going to eat the cookies if I want to! And I’m going to eat that half gallon of cheesecake-flavored ice cream just to spite you! And also three or four chickens!

Relaxed Dieting:

Your relaxed brain that knows everything is as it should be: Ah, it feels so good to take care of myself! I feel like rolling in a field of roses and cauliflower! Oh look, cookies! Perhaps after my walk I shall enjoy one, because I love cookies!

Your “wild child” brain which currently has no rules to break: Really? We get to eat a cookie? My work here is done. I’m going to take a nap.

See what I mean?

This works in many situations. Think about a time when you worried quite a bit. What the outcome of a test would be, when you’d meet your next pen pal, whether or not you’d get swine flu, that sort of thing. Did worrying help at all? Did it make you feel productive? Did it help you accomplish something?

I don’t know about you, but worrying just sets me on a course straight to Crazy Town. I get anxious about things that don’t matter (um, you can dust tomorrow, too, you know) and just generally feel out of control in my own life.

Therefore, I’m adding to my goals of 2010. I want to try to remember to relax about everything more. My main way of doing that? Watching my mind. When I start to go into stress mode, I’m trying to step back and notice, “hey, my wacky  mind is up to its old tricks again, and I don’t want to buy into them”. Then I take some deep breaths and do something else for a while. Or at least that’s the plan!

Now I’m off to wash dishes (in a relaxed manner), pet my cats (always relaxing), and get to relaxin’.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 7:55 pm

    So, so true! I don’t believe in restricting myself (which is why I’m fine with doing a month without sugar). If I really want something, I’ll have it in moderation, and not feel bad!

    Stress is SO bad for our bodies. There is no need to add unnecessary stress!

Leave a Reply

