Skip to content

My Next 30 Years

November 22, 2009

Having grown up in New England, I rarely listened to country music. Except that one time when I was teaching Laura Harshman to drive stick and I let her pick the radio station. Blech!

However, I started traveling around the South over eight years ago and have lived in North Carolina for five years, plus my almost-22-year-old pickup truck only gets one station clearly. And it’s country, baby!

Country music has grown on me. There are no swear words or loud beats and most of the songs have nice (or incredibly sappy) lyrics, which is fine with me.

Five or six years ago I first heard Tim McGraw’s My Next 30 Years. I learned the lyrics, sang along, but never thought much about them. And then I heard the song the other day and I was blown away. Why? Because I turn 30 tomorrow!!! I have been very excited about getting into my thirties, but somehow hearing that song really struck me. When I first heard it I was in my early(ish) twenties and thirty seemed far, far away.

Here are the lyrics, and a video clip if you don’t feel like reading.

I think I’ll take a moment, celebrate my age
The ending of an era and the turning of a page
Now it’s time to focus in on where I go from here
Lord have mercy on my next thirty years

Hey my next thirty years I’m gonna have some fun
Try to forget about all the crazy things I’ve done
Maybe now I’ve conquered all my adolescent fears
And I’ll do it better in my next thirty years

My next thirty years I’m gonna settle all the scores
Cry a little less, laugh a little more
Find a world of happiness without the hate and fear
Figure out just what I’m doing here
In my next thirty years

Oh my next thirty years, I’m gonna watch my weight
Eat a few more salads and not stay up so late
Drink a little lemonade and not so many beers
Maybe I’ll remember my next thirty years

My next thirty years will be the best years of my life
Raise a little family and hang out with my wife
Spend precious moments with the ones that I hold dear
Make up for lost time here, in my next thirty years
In my next thirty years

So what do I want to do in my next 30 years? It’s hard to say. I can tell you what my goals for my 30th year are, though:

  • Travel as much as possible, including trips to California, up North, the beach, and to a few campgrounds, plus anything else that comes my way
  • Make plans and save enough money to travel overseas again when I’m 31
  • Run at least one half marathon, maybe two!
  • Run said half marathon in 2:11 or under
  • Hold at least two workshops (I’m already holding one called Manifesting a Dream starting December 3rd!)
  • Write another book and find an agent
  • Gain coaching clientele
  • Improve my public speaking skills
  • Spend lots of time with my cats, my sweetheart, my family

Beyond that I have a hard time trying to figure out what I’ll want for the next 30 years. That’s a long time! I can only imagine that my next 30 years will be even more wonderful than my first. For one, I don’t have to learn how to drive, go to high school, have a curfew, go to junior high, have braces, be subjected to gym class, get dumped for the first time, or be made fun of for running like a horse. All of which happened in my first 30 years.

My intentions for my next 30 years seem pretty simple to me:

  • Continue to travel and see new places every.single.year.
  • Continue to exercise and eat right;  my health is always a top priority for me
  • Get married and have at least one child
  • Move up to a bigger house with a guest room and my own office!
  • Help and inspire people
  • Continue to be inspired and moved by other people
  • Read, write, make art, play, hike
  • Enjoy nature

Yup, that stuff seems pretty easily attainable.

Now I’m off to enjoy the very last day of my 20’s. There will be pancakes.

Be Joyful!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 8:30 pm

    It’s kind of scary to think about where I’ll be in 30 years… but it’s a good idea to actually write it down!

    I was wondering where you’d been, I’ve missed your posts!

Leave a Reply

