Skip to content

Why I Heart My Part Time Job

November 5, 2009

About a week and a half ago I went back to a “real” job. It’s just for the holiday season and is part time, so my time there is short. Ever since I went back, though,  my love for coaching and desire to be completely self employed for all time has at least quadrupled. Here are some reasons why I am so happy I took a crappy part time job:

  • I am reminded what it’s like to have someone else schedule my time, including when I can eat, drink, and pee. This might sound like a bad thing, but it’s great because it gives me that much insight into exactly what I want, so I can attract it to me.
  • I am getting out of the house  more and realizing I like being busy. Since I’ve been self employed I’ve been sort of freaked out about giving up too much of my time, but I’m actually much happier having a fuller schedule.
  • I am not afraid anymore. I used to be so scared of my employers. I believe that’s the number one reason I was underpaid for so many years: I didn’t stand up to anyone and always took what I got. I am so very different now. If someone at my current job gave me trouble, I’d stand right up to them. I’m so much more confident about my abilities now.
  • It is crystal clear to me now that I’m a great life coach and coaching (along with creating and writing) is what I want to do with my life for the immediate future. (The distant future may have me wearing Go-Go Boots and sparkly body spray whilst singing Opera, for all I know.) I had gotten afraid about my abilities. Being back out in the real world has really clarified for me what I want.
  • I now understand how much I’m worth. I basically make about 10 times as much per hour coaching as I do working this other job. My time is worth so, so much more than that. Again, now that I’ve taken this job and can see that so effortlessly, in the future it will be much easier for me to ask for and receive what I’m worth. Go me.
  • Customer service and connecting with others is truly a deep love for me. I’ve known it for years, and being back out in the public proves it. However, I’d prefer to be connecting with people through coaching than asking them if they need help finding a pair of shoes!

Now I must brush my hair and teeth, put on something other than pajamas, and hope I don’t have to pee before someone gives me the go ahead 🙂

Be Joyful!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 6:24 pm

    Awesome, Jen! What a great way to get clarity about what you love. Thanks for sharing what you learned–I can feel it through your words.

  2. November 8, 2009 4:48 pm

    I like this attitude! I was also just thinking about how getting out of your routine can really clarify what you want, as well as show you that there are SO many possibilities out there…

    GO You!!

Leave a Reply

