Skip to content

Go Forward

October 27, 2009

I always struggle between wanting to write what I’m feeling on this blog and wanting to save any thoughts that are less than inspiring for another avenue, say, my journal.

Plain and simple, lately I haven’t been feeling all that inspired. My strong desire to help and inspire others hasn’t been on fire lately, probably because I haven’t had much of an opportunity to reach out to new people. I hope the steps I’m currently taking are going to get me back to that place.

Today I was reading Carrot’s N Cake and Tina had posted a video that I found very touching; it reminded me of why I became a life coach in the first place. It’s below if you want to check it out.

I also signed up for the Second Annual Pile On The Miles Challenge. The idea is to keep running or walking during November and December even though it’s getting colder, darker, and life is filled with all things decadent. Since I’m training for a half marathon, submitting my miles to someone other than myself seemed like a good idea.

As I mentioned in my last post, having a goal seems to be something that makes me feel good, and other people seem to enjoy the challenge of reaching a goal, too. That got me thinking about my other life goals.

Why is it so easy for me to pick a goal like running a half marathon, draw up and follow a training schedule, and understand that I just follow the dotted lines  and will end up at my destination? I have no doubts whatsoever that I’ll get there by putting in the time and energy. When it comes to my business and financial success, though, I have a much harder time.

Today I wrote up some goals for the next six months or so, but it seems so much harder to make them come true. Mostly because they involve other people. I have to actually get other bodies to come to the coaching event I’m hosting in November. I actually have to get people to sign up for the course I’m holding in December. Other people are involved. I am not so sure of my powers when it comes to other people.

That’s where I need to get back to my coaching roots again. If I was coaching a client I’d tell them to start visualizing their goals actually happening. I’d have them write them down and/or make a vision board, and look at it every day. I’d have them imagine how it would feel to achieve the goals they’d set for themselves. Sure, they’d have to put in the hard work to get to their goals, but sending out positive vibes and imagining themselves in a land of success is a HUGE step. One that I have not been very good at doing for myself lately.

Bad dog. I mean, bad coach.

My desire to coach, to teach, to continue to learn and be inspired by others, to travel, to work for myself, to live a life full of light and joy has not changed. I just need to get back on track with my own desires and believe in myself once again.

This experience is absolutely perfect, though. It’s perfect because it will teach me how to teach others to get back on track. It will show me exactly what other people go through when trying to stay with a dream that is bigger than anything they’ve reached for before.

And with that I go forward.

Be Joyful!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 11:49 am

    I was going to tell you that the difference is that it involves other people but you realized that as well 🙂 I think it’s great that you’re using what’s happening right now as an experience not only for yourself, but for coaching your clients as well!

    Good luck with the challenge!

Leave a Reply

