Skip to content

Goals n’ Stuff

October 19, 2009

I once read that to be a great blogger you should blog consistently; keep things fresh. And when you don’t blog for a while, do not, I repeat, do not, apologize for being gone so long, grovel at your reader’s feet, or explain your absence.

Well, there goes my opening paragraph.

Let’s just say lots and lots of things have been going on in my world and blogging has not been my top priority. However, I’m  happy to report that I have something interesting and life coach worthy to report on.

Months and months ago my mom said she wanted new furniture. (It may have been years and years ago, actually.) She lives about ten minutes away from me and I see her frequently, so of course I knew all about the furniture situation. I didn’t think I was doing anything special by driving her to various furniture stores, talking to her about colors, and ultimately, asking her to say out loud when she hoped to have this furniture picked out, delivered, and sitting in her living room.

Last Saturday night, as I sat on an adorable and brand new maroon-ish swivel chair, looking around at the other brand new pieces in her collection, I was pleased, but surprised, to hear how much of an impact I had on Mom and her reaching her new furniture goal.

Apparently the support was great, but asking her to speak her goals out loud was especially helpful. She then reminded me about how she managed to make one of her other goals come true this summer. She wanted some new summer clothing for a few reasons, but especially because she was making a trip back up to Connecticut, where some of our family still lives. (I’ve been a North Carolina girl for five years; she and my step dad followed me down a little over two years ago.)

I did the exact same thing with her about the clothes that I did with the furniture: I went to stores with her, looked at clothes, and asked her about her clothing goals. How many new pairs of slacks did she want? How many tops? When did she want to get them by?

One day she hit the jackpot and found four pairs of pants she loved, and shortly thereafter she bought quite a few pieces from a catalog and they all fit, which I think is a miracle in and of itself.

So I can only conclude from this experience that to get something you want you should:

  1. Focus on what you want
  2. Spend even more time focusing on what you want by looking around, noticing what you want, looking at pictures of what you want, etc
  3. Set an actual, tangible goal about what you want
  4. Say it out loud to at least one other person
  5. Have an awesome daughter like me help you out (optional)

That really got me thinking. I’ve felt a little stale lately and have been uber focused on my business (and in some cases, lack of business), so I decided to set my own goal. Or possibly goals, I’m not sure yet.

I’m going to run a half marathon! My running history is…interesting. I couldn’t (or wouldn’t) run in high school, period. I walked the mile whenever they tested us. I hated it. In my early 20’s I started caring much, much more about fitness and health, so I started working out. Not much running was involved, though. About 4 and a half years ago I did start running more; I remember the first time I ran for 2 miles, I was so thrilled with myself!

Three and a half years ago I went through a big deal life change type thing, and it made me want to set goals. One of those goals was to run a half marathon. And I did. I printed out a training program and stuck it to my refrigerator. I followed it mostly exactly. I ran (and walked some) a very, very slow 2:21:15 half. But I was still really, really proud of myself!

Since then I still run on occasion, but more often walk. All of a sudden though, I got this huge itch to set and achieve my own goal. I have picked the ING Atlanta Half Marathon. I’ve already written up a training schedule and even went out in sub-freezing temps today to run!

What goals can you set for yourself? Doesn’t it feel great to be working towards something that is challenging? Try it today!

Be Joyful!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 11:23 am

    I was wondering where you went! I missed your posts 🙂

    Congrats on deciding to run a half-marathon!!! how far off is it? I want to do one next fall 🙂

  2. October 21, 2009 1:35 pm

    Congrats on setting such an exciting goal! Very inspiring. And I love how much you helped your mom achieve things in her own life.

  3. October 27, 2009 2:52 pm

    You know what I have found really helps me succeed at my goals is some sort of goal tracking software. For running I had the most success with the nike + system.

    The only problem is that it doenst play really well with rain and I live in Vancouver! But other than that it was indispensable in creating and achieving my goals. There is even an online community where you can challenge other people to meet/match your goals. I think there is even a training program for people doing marathons such as yourself.

    It only runs like $40. Totally worth it to make sure you achieve your goal!

    Cheers

    Jesse

Trackbacks

  1. Go Forward « Life Coach Jen's Recipes For Creativity

Leave a Reply

