Skip to content

Another Fresh Start

September 28, 2009

Today I woke up feeling slightly panicked. I definitely spent more time than necessary worrying this weekend over money and business things. I also spent quite a bit of time trying not to worry about money and business things.

Sunday was gorgeous here in the mountains…it felt like fall! The air was crisp and cool and a few trees here and there are starting to make their transformation from greens to golds and reds. I didn’t worry about anything when we went for an afternoon drive, walk, and second walk!

And then there was this morning. Lack of abundance type feelings snuck up on me again. Luckily I have many, many tools to help me deal with this stuff! Also, I receive an email quote every single morning from Abraham-Hicks. Sometimes I’m too lazy to read them, but today’s quote definitely spoke to me.

Make up your mind that nothing is more important than how I feel now, because now is everything. Now is the whole enchilada. Now is the power of me. Now, now, now, now, now… You might as well start somewhere, and it might as well be now. Why not start improving your life now, now, now?

— Abraham

Excerpted from the workshop in Tarrytown, NY on Saturday, October 9th, 2004 #210

I actually think this quote was specifically for me, because October 9th, 2004 is a date I will always remember, and I believe the Universe knew I’d notice.

After reading that quote I somehow was able to get back on track with my positive thinking. Everything in my life at this moment is absolutely wonderful. I’m warm, my feet have fuzzy socks on them (Amy, it’s time for you to get me a new pair), I have water to drink, I’m sitting comfortably, I can breathe, I have my health, I am blogging….everything is just fine.

As I was cooking breakfast (I am absolutely OBSESSED with oatmeal, half a cooked Honey Crisp apple, a sprinkle of nutmeg and a sprinkle of cloves – it tastes like apple pie!) I had a wonderful feeling come over me…a feeling of “everything will be okay”. And everything is okay. There is nothing to not be okay about, you know?

One of the wonderful things I practiced doing over the weekend was a new technique for scary away unwanted thoughts. I know there are tons of methods out there, my favorite is probably using The Work to look at thoughts in a new way and turn them around, but I liked this one, too. It was less involved.

As I mentioned, I’m reading Eat, Pray, Love for the second time and getting a whole bunch of different things out of it than I did the first time. I’ve been taking my time with the second section, in which the author, Elizabeth Gilbert, is in an Ashram in India. She mentions that thoughts are what cause all our pain (surprise, surprise – I don’t remember noticing her mention of this the first time I read the book) and she starts saying on particular phrase over and over again to get her thoughts to scamper away, “I will not harbor unhealthy thoughts anymore”.

She goes on to explain that harbor is of course both a verb and a noun, and she begins picturing her mind as an island with a harbor. The island is just starting to come into it’s own; it’s been through some rough patches but is fertile ground. She pictures her thoughts as various ships of thought and turns them all away from her harbor, which is access to her island, her Self, if they are hard, unfriendly, unkind, or anything else that does not serve her.

I love this way of visualizing turning away unfriendly thoughts! I’ve used it a few times over the weekend and I think it’s a great coaching tool. Often times I do need to go through the many steps of the work to get to a turnaround for my thoughts, but so often a thought it one I’ve had dozens of times just that day, and simply asking it to turn around and leave the harbor of my mind feels very freeing.

That being said, today I’ll continue with focusing on abundance. I am going to be fine no matter what. If I continue to remember to notice I’m fine in each moment, how could anything be less than wonderful?

Be Joyful!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 4:29 pm

    Just found your blog. Love your attitute in this post! keep it up! Amen to what you’ve said!

  2. martha Beck permalink
    September 28, 2009 6:19 pm

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!

  3. cjbeale permalink
    September 28, 2009 11:16 pm

    Thanks for a great post and Abraham-Hicks quote!

    Carolyn
    http://www.SerendipitysGarden.com

Leave a Reply

