Skip to content

Wahoo.

September 21, 2009

I feel good! I know, I know, it’s Monday and I’m typing this at 7:20 am, so clearly I have been abducted by aliens and replaced by some non-human form.

Hey, if that’s what happened, it’s fine with me, because in case I didn’t mention it, I feel good!

Today is going to be a photo-filled edition of ye olde bloge. Ready?

Remember how I went on vacation last week? I swam in the ocean, watched the sun set, went to historic Charleston, went on long beach walks, went to an aquarium…and took three pictures. Three pictures TOTAL. And I took them all in one place.

And now, for your viewing enjoyment: Jen’s summer vacation photo diary.

It's a pier!

It's a pier!

It's a beach!

It's a beach!

It's superman! Oh wait, that's just Anthony.

It's superman! Oh wait, that's just Anthony.

I know, awesome that I have these memories, right? When we got home from vacation we were (and still have been) too lazy to put our big duffel bag back in the attic. And this is what has become of it.

Coco in a bag

Coco in a bag

Moving on, sort of: I want to tell you about my Sunday. It was raining here in the mountains of western NC all. Damn. Day. It was relentless! My ‘rents picked Anthony and I up so we could go out for pancakes in the morning and after Anthony and I got back home we didn’t feel like doing nothin’!

Now I’m going to show you what my family did with its Sunday. I want you to note that I took more pictures on a boring, rainy Sunday than I did on my entire four day gorgeous sunny vacation. What is wrong with me?

Nola took up with the devil, hoping he would stop the rain.

Nola took up with the devil, hoping he would stop the rain.

That devil reference was just a bad joke, sorry. Here she is on a rocker on the front porch. Depressed and miserable because it's raining. She sat in the same chair for close to two hours. Isn't she cute?

That devil reference was just a bad joke, sorry. Here she is on a rocker on the front porch. Depressed and miserable because it's raining. She sat in the same chair for close to two hours. Isn't she cute?

Anthony and Coconut had some quality nap-time together.

Anthony and Coconut had some quality nap-time together.

I became involved with some "Stern Men".

I became involved with some "Stern Men".

After a few hours Anthony and I played Scrabble and I won. Two bingos, boo yah! We also went for a walk in the drizzle. It was sort of nice because the lake where we normally walk was pretty much deserted.

Oh, I just remembered this is a blog about life coaching and I haven’t done any of that yet. But I have a good reason, I’m saving up for something good, stick with me.

Later in the evening Anthony decided to head over to his friend’s house to watch the Giants game. He’s not normally much of a football watcher, but he is from New York originally and his friend has a TV that is larger than our living room, so I can see the appeal. When he left I want to the grocery store. Don’t ask; I decided making lentil soup would be a good way to spend my Sunday night.

Everything was cool: I was cranking the music, cooking my veggies and soup and having a grand old time. And then I wasn’t. Long story short, Anthony called me, he’d eaten dinner with his friend and friend’s wife close by and he hadn’t invited me (which made total sense, because they were eating at a grease pit steak house that I’d never in a million years want to go to, plus I hadn’t been planning on eating a formal dinner because of the weird schedule we were on all day, plus it was totally a last minute thing where he had them order for him) and I started crying. (Why am I telling you this again? To embarrass myself horribly, I believe. Oh, no, because I’m still getting to a point.)

Okay, so I started feeling really, really lonely at that point. Anthony actually was still close by and came home to give me a hug and asked if I wanted him to stay or if I wanted to go to the friend’s house with him, but I declined on both. It was my problem, not his!

SO. I cheered up a little, by which I mean I was no longer sobbing like a three year old who didn’t get the right colored My Little Pony for her birthday, finished my soup, and started watching the Emmy’s. The kitchen was a mess, I still felt like a mess, and in that moment I knew I needed a change.

I stood up dramatically (at least that’s how I picture it happening) and said, “My life is going to change tomorrow!” And then I said, “No, my life is going to change NOW!” So I washed the dishes to feel like I had a clean start, then I sat down on the futon with my notebook.

The ramblings of someone who wants a new life.

The ramblings of someone who wants a new life.

I love many, many parts of my life. But there are some things that will be in my ideal life that I just don’t have at the moment. Or I didn’t last night. The Law of Attraction says we attract what we’re in vibrational alignment with, and a great way to get in alignment is to picture what you want your life to be like, and imagine it down to the smallest detail you can. The idea is to really feel what this great life will be like.

In my notebook I wrote the words “My Life” and then started writing all the things I want in life. I ended up writing a list of 15 things I wanted to attract to me. Things like a good friend who lives close by (my closest friend lives an hour away and some live as far as California!), frequent travel, beautiful clothes, perfect health, two homes, what I want my clients to be like, etc. I also wrote down that I wanted to get paid to write helpful humor, and that ended up really striking a nerve with me. I may be switching my blog around yet again, because I don’t think I’ve ever truly captured the mood I want to here – I am pretty darn funny but I can’t always get it in line with my life coaching, but that’s what I really want to do.

After I made my list of 15 things (that’s just where it ended, if you try this exercise write as much as you can) I rewrote each thing and then wrote down as much detail as I could about each item. I fleshed out some details about what my friend would be like (in a similar place in life, doesn’t have kids yet, etc), where my two homes might be, how much abundance was in my life, etc. The effects of writing and imagining this list have still not worn off!

Last night I dreamed of all sorts of things and when I was awake wondered what the best way to do the “helpful humor” thing was. Not sure yet. I woke up happy. I think my plan is to read over this list again and maybe even write more detail down.

If you want to do this exercise just get some paper, write down “My Life” at the top of it, then just make a list of everything you want in your life. Husband? New career? Nicer teeth? Whatever. Once you’re done and excited, go through each line item and write down more details. Lots of details. What is your husband like? How old? Hair color? Shoe size? Family life? If you’re not sure about things like what you want your career to be, just write about how you want it to make you feel, “my new career will be full of freedom and joy”.

Once you finish the list, look it over. Read it out loud if you feel comfortable doing so. Go back to it the next day and update it, tweak it, dream it. Keep doing it. Change it as necessary.

I have a postcard on my refrigerator that has a quote from Norman Vincent Peale that says,  “Hold an image of the life you want, and that life will become fact”. I saw that last night before I made my list, and I know it’s true.

Okay, now it’s your turn.

Be joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

