Skip to content

Inspiration is Everywhere

September 18, 2009

I’ve been noticing lately that inspiration is everywhere. I thought it would be a good idea to share some of that inspiration with you so you can start noticing it in your own life, too.

My inspiration today is Ellen Degeneres. I’ve loved her sense of humor for many, many years. I was in high school when her television show, Ellen, ran, and I thought it was hysterical. I was ticked when her ratings dropped after she came out – as far as I was concerned her sexuality had absolutely nothing to do with how funny she was!

I also ready her book, My Point, And I Do Have One when I was in high school. I remember some joke about cats and the Iditarod that made me laugh so hard I thought I was going to stop breathing.

Obviously, there are many things about her that are inspiring, from her great sense of humor to her kindness and generosity (have you seen the stuff she gives away on her talk show??), not to mention her love for animals. She’s also a vegan, which I greatly respect.

Today I caught part of the E! True Hollywood Story about her, and this show is what inspired me to write about her today. According to the show, Ellen had a vision. She could clearly see herself on stage, performing for Johnny Carson on The Tonight Show, with him inviting her to sit down and speak with him after her performance. She had envisioned her whole performance five years before she made it on the show!

And make it on the show she did. Not only did she make in on the show, Johnny invited her to speak with him – she was the first female comic who ever got invited to sit down on his couch!

What is most inspiring to me about this story is that she did exactly what I coach people to do: picture your ideal life exactly as you want it to be. I know it can be hard to imagine something that’s very different from where you are in this moment, but look at Ellen! She was living in Louisiana, just starting out when she started picturing every detail of her appearance on The Tonight Show. Not only did she do that, she pictured her self being very, very famous. Do you think it worked?

Dream big, don’t be afraid. Ellen is an inspiration to me and we can all learn something from her story!

P.S. One of my own mini dreams came true today – I made the local paper! Check it out here!

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

