Skip to content

Oh, The Irony.

September 3, 2009

Yikes, even writing the word “Irony” reminded me how at my former job I had to iron my worth clothes. Yuck.

Perhaps the reason my former place of employ is on my brain is because I spent the morning formatting my stellar piece of paperclip literature, which is destined to be a classic, and in it I spent mucho time talking about the old gig.

The piece of literature to which I’m referring is the book I wrote called Office Supply Art: How To Not Die of Boredom and Lack of Creativity At Your Lame 9 to 5. I was so damn bored at the job I had before I became a life coach that I had to glue fake eyes made of construction paper onto my eyelids during my weekly marketing meeting so I would look alert. It was awful. To pass the time and prevent any attempts at taking my own life, I turned to the hard stuff: Permanent markers.

No, no, not like that. I started making art out of office supplies I found lying around my office. And lying around in the office supply closet. Nobody missed that pack of 300 multicolored paperclips, I’m quite sure. I used whatever I could find and took pictures of it and wrote about it.

I had really high hopes for the book I wrote, which was just a short gift book type thing, and once I completed it I sent it off to some editors. Like so many authors, I got rejected over and over again. After a couple of months I sort of forgot about the project, partially because I was sick of getting rejected, and partially because I finished the book shortly before I quit my job.

A couple weeks ago my mom said, “Why don’t you put part of your book up on your blog, and sell it as an ebook?” It sounded like a really great idea. Which is why I did absolutely nothing on it. At all. Then, suddenly, today I was really into working on it. I’ve reformatted the book, added more content, written an introduction, and only have a few finishing touches to get it ready to go.

And the irony after which I named this post? When my sweetheart came home for lunch I wrapped up what I was doing and went outside to get the mail. Inside? A rejection letter from the one company I really thought I had a chance with. But I thought that well over a year ago when I sent my stuff out…I had completely forgotten that I even had anymore queries out there! So the day I get back on the horse and work on this project, I get a reminder that it failed.

Yet that’s not how I see it at all. When I was rereading pieces of the book today, plus working on new sections, I was cracking up! Writing, especially ridiculous and funny writing, is such a huge part of me, I can’t imagine ever giving up on it. Someone will like my book. Even if it’s just me and two other people. I’m going to finish getting it ready and put it out there for people to see. I’m so proud of it, and so thankful that in this day and age I can get my work to a larger audience regardless of what a publishing house thinks of it.

And with that, I bid you good day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 11:19 pm

    This is great! I can’t wait to read the book 🙂 You have always succeeded at making me laugh!

  2. September 3, 2009 11:21 pm

    This sounds awesome, Jen. I can’t wait to see it out here for the world.

    p.s. Isn’t it funny how mom’s best intentions send us the other direction? Why is that? I have the same problem…

Leave a Reply

