Skip to content

Money, and the Law of Attraction Thoughts

September 2, 2009

I am going to blog about this while it’s fresh in my mind: I just finished listening to the CD that accompanies the book Money, and the Law of Attraction: Learning to Attract Wealth, Health, and Happiness by Jerry and Esther Hicks. The CD is of a Law of Allowing workshop held by the Hicks’. I’ve probably said this before, but if you don’t know much about the Law of Attraction, check out the Hicks’ website or buy one of their many great books.  I’m mostly telling you to do that because I have a hard time fully explaining the law of attraction – I want you to read about it yourself.

What I will say about LOA, though, is that like attracts like. Ever heard the saying that the rich get richer and the poor get poorer? LOA explains it perfectly: the rich expect to get richer. They focus on what they have, the house, the car, the trips, the gadgets, etc. They (hopefully) enjoy and make use of those things, talk about the money they have, etc, etc. They attract more wealth because they are living in a place where they expect it. On the other hand, people who are poor or who are struggling with money are constantly noticing the lack of said money. They are saying over and over,  “I don’t have enough, I don’t have enough, I’ve never had enough”. So, what can you possibly do to change your financial standing? Change your thoughts.

Money, and the Law of Attraction is the third Abraham-Hicks book I’ve read, and it’s my favorite so far. I’m not sure if it’s my favorite because this book really solidified my understanding of the Law of Attraction, or if it’s my favorite because it talks about something we all desire: money. Either way, it’s left me feeling wonderful, and I want some of that to rub off on you, too.

Once I finished the book I popped the CD from the back of the book into ye olde DVD player. I’m so glad I did! There is a transcript of the CD at the end of the book, but listening to it was really incredible! After Esther Hicks, who channels a non-physical entity called “Abraham” (if this all sounds way crazy, just pick up a copy of the book The Law of Attraction, read it, then get back to me) speaks about the “art of allowing”, which is the way each of us should be allowing all the wonderful things life has to offer us into our experience, she took an audience member question.

The gentleman asked, sort of sarcastically, about where his “veritable fortune” was. To back up a moment, the idea behind the book I just finished reading is that we all have amazing and unlimited resources and health available to us – the purpose of our existence is to enjoy life and find joy, freedom, and growth. However, we’re not taught to live that way, so we assume we need to work and work and work and struggle and struggle and struggle. Not so, says Abraham, and I choose to believe him/them! So, when the dude in the audience asks about his supposed fortune, and where it is, the answer he gets really blew me away!

Actually, the answer was more of the same, but hearing it said out loud got to me: Feel as if you’re already there financially. Think about how exciting it will be to have this money. Tell yourself, “There is plenty, there is plenty, there is plenty, I believe I can do it, all is well.” No more, “I want it but, I want it but”. They say that 99 percent of all creating is completed vibrationally before we see the evidence in it. We have to expect things to happen to us. This goes for all aspects of our lives, I’m just particularly focused on money right now. If you want an improved relationship, better health, more happiness, more of whatever, you have to focus on what you want, what you expect to come into your life, not what you’re lacking. If you focus on what you want for a minute and then go back to the way you were thinking about this before, with a big ol’ “but” in the middle, you’re just “disallowing” all that great stuff to come to you.

I want to say so much more about this, but honestly I’m just starting to get it. Really get it. Get that wanting something from a place of lack (I’ll never make enough money! I need more money!) will NOT work. Get that expecting something, and focusing on all that I love and appreciate about what I do have and will have, is the way to go. As things start to move in my life, in the direction that I’m working on, I’ll be sure to let you know!

All of this might sound totally nutty to you if you’ve never heard of it before, but I know it’s made a very, very positive difference in my life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 10:24 am

    It’s not nutty! I love hearing people talk about the Law of Attraction. It’s so simple and so complicated, all at the same time.

    I’ve read several of the Abraham-Hicks books, but not the money one. You’ve got me interested now!

Leave a Reply

