Skip to content

Dream Big

August 31, 2009

You know what I did last week? Took down my vision board, my end game, the artwork from my office wall. Why, you ask? Because it felt stale.

I made my vision board back in February, and wrote my end game in February or March. (In case you’re not sure what I’m talking about, here’s a post about my vision board, and an end game is a write up of what you want your life to look like in three to five years.) For a while I would look at them, contemplate them, fantasize about living the life I dreamed about, etc, but after a while they just became part of the wall. I considered taking them down for some time, but was too lazy.

Finally, last week, I did it. I had to climb on my desk to reach everything, but I cleaned up the walls and my cork board and filed everything away. Now my challenge is to put up something new, which I feel like I’ve found the inspiration to do today.

Where did that inspiration come from, you (probably didn’t) ask? A book, of course. I’m reading Money, and the Law of Attraction: Learning to Attract Wealth, Health, and Happiness by Jerry and Esther Hicks.  The book is fantastic and I can’t say enough about it. I’ll probably write more about it later because there is SO MUCH awesome info in it.

The section that got me back into gear for working on a new vision board is the section of the book on careers. They basically let you know that your career should be living a joyful life. If that means being a fireman or an astronaut, go for it, but you’re probably going to continue to expand your desires and change your mind about what you want to do with your life, which is totally fine.

Jerry mentions that his career really took off when he wrote down what he wanted – not what the job would be, specifically, but what he wanted in regards to his career, such as self-employment, freedom, the ability to elevate other people, to travel, etc. That made me want to write down what I want from my own career and life, which is what I did this morning. This is going to make up the center of my vision board:

I want to live a joyful life. I want to be self employed. I want to show people joy and add to their life experience. I want to have control of my income. I want people to be drawn to me based on my energy, the Universe, word of mouth. I want to make tons of money. I want to travel the world and see places like Europe, Tibet, Australia, Canada, the Caribbean, and more of New Zealand and the States. I want to work as little as I want. I want to be my only employee. I want to have more than one home. I want the ability to rent a house in Mexico or Hawaii during the winter if I choose. I want to be able to afford a house or rental in the Hamptons, if I choose. I want to write, to draw, to take art courses. I want to show people joy. I want to experience as much joy as possible. I want to walk, hike, live. I want to be strong and healthy and fit. I want to eat delicious, healthy, whole food.

It’s a little weird for me to post that on this blog to let people read, because it’s scary! Fear comes up for me; people will think I’m selfish and unrealistic for wanting to make tons of money and have more than one home. But you know what? People told Jerry he was being unrealistic with what he wanted, too, and all of his dreams and more came true. Also, if I edited this for the blog, I’d just be doing it to try to make other people think differently about me, I wouldn’t be being true to myself.

I printed out these desires, and I plan on putting this list smack dab in the middle of my vision board. Next I’ll surround the words with images that support this desire – probably pictures of places I’d like to visit, pretty colors, words of inspiration, nice homes and gardens, and whatever else I can find to support this dream.

I’ll let you know how it works out. In the mean time, think about what you want. Your real, true desires, not what you think you should write down to please other people! Dream as big as you can possibly dream…

Have fun!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 11:19 am

    That actually sounds like a great idea! I totally see how it could feel “stale”. I definitely have to take a moment and think about what my desires are (for life in general) because I really don’t know…

  2. August 31, 2009 1:15 pm

    I’m so happy to hear this. My vision board is getting stale, too, yet I haven’t had the inspiration to do anything about it just yet.

    When I look at it, the things on it still feel pertinent, but the excitement it once had is gone.

    I like your idea of putting the words in the center, too… maybe the inspiration is closer than I realized.

    Thanks for sharing this!

Trackbacks

  1. Dream Big Part Two « Life Coach Jen's Recipes For Creativity
  2. Dream Big « Life Coach Jen's Recipes For Creativity | Today Headlines

Leave a Reply

