Skip to content

Nets and Egos

August 12, 2009

Yesterday I was listening to a free MP3 about “upleveling” my business that I got for signing up for Christine Kane’s newsletter. I didn’t even finish the whole thing because I got so excited and motivated while listening to the first half of it!

If I was a note-taker, and you know I’m not, I’d be able to give you quite a bit more information about what I learned. Instead, I’m going to suggest you go sign up yourself if you’re really interested in starting or improving your business, and I’ll tell you the two things that stuck out to me the most, and how I’m applying them to my own life.

Visitors to your website or blog don’t count for much if you don’t have a net to catch them. I have been told time and time again that I need to offer something to people for signing up to be on my “list”. My list will be made up of people who are interested in receiving info from me, getting my (not yet started) newsletter, and want to know if I’m offering any classes. The more people I (or you) have on your list, the better.

Unfortunately, even if people visit my sites, if I don’t have any way to draw them in, they’re probably not going to come back and I’m certainly not going to get them on my list. And neither are you, if you don’t have something to offer.

So what’s the “net” you need to catch people who are interested in you and your products or services? Something free. I’ve read books and heard other coaches say this for months and months now, but listening to the MP3 got me motivated. I’m going to offer some sort of free mini e-book to people who visit my sites. I started this thing a while ago, but now I’m actually getting it done, yay!

Your ego will tell you you’re going to fail. Don’t listen to it! I can’t remember the example Christine gave in her MP3, but for the first time ever it clicked with me that my ego is the one holding me back from trying to get my name out there, from offering more tele-classes, workshops, and more!

I always chocked up my resistance to getting myself out there to fear, but where does the fear come from? It comes from my ego not wanting me to fail! It all makes sense now! For some reason I always assumed my ego wasn’t preventing me from doing things, but trying to make me do things my essential self didn’t really want to do, like pluck my eyebrows or work at a fancy job. Now I realize the ego is responsible for both!

With this newly discovered knowledge I immediately got a surge of energy and contacted the lifestyles editor of my local paper about running a piece about me and my small business. She replied almost immediately that she’s interested! I’m now much more aware of the lies my ego is telling me.

I hope you’ve also learned something from this information and that today you do something you’ve been meaning to do!

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

