Skip to content

August 7, 2009 Daily Gratitude

August 7, 2009

I have been majorly slacking off with blogging what I’m grateful for daily! Today seems like as good a day as any other to get back on track, though!

Today I’m grateful for:

  1. Social Media. I never thought I’d get so caught up in blogs, twitter, facebook, my own blog, etc, but now that I work from home I really, really appreciate the various ways I can connect with other people.
  2. Banana pancakes & pb for breakfast. I love food. I love healthy and yummy food. My life would not be the same without pancakes, ha ha.
  3. I’m going out to dinner with friends tonight at a fabulous vegetarian restaurant in Asheville called The Laughing Seed. I have been to this place many, many times, but it’s been a while and I’m excited! Not to mention getting out of the house with friends.
  4. The time I’ve gotten to spend with my parent’s cats this week. When I was 13 the last living pet from my childhood years passed.  We’d had a dog, Cindy, who was long dead, a cat, Hobby, who had passed a few years before, another cat, Dee Dee, who my mom got four years before I was born who lived to be almost 18, but had died the year before, and a pretty white cat, Lightning, who had just been put to sleep because of feline leukemia. When my parents brought Lightning in to the vet’s office there happened to be an orange cat who had nine orange kittens that were up for adoption! After a discussion about getting a new cat, Mom and I went to pick one out. I chose a little male cat, whom I named “Lemin” after the way it’s spelled in the liner notes of Pearl Jam’s song “Jeremy”. Because I was going to marry Eddie Vedder and I wanted to have something to talk to him about. But I digress. We couldn’t bring Lemin home yet, and when we brought my step dad, Joe, back to meet him, a little female kitty picked him out and wouldn’t leave him alone. He named her “Ladybug” right there on the spot, because she was a female and one of the nicknames for our cat who had just passed was “Bug”. Thus, we ended up with two orange kittens! Those orange kittens are now elderly orange cats, and I only lived with them for four years before leaving for college. Well, this week I’ve had a chance to reconnect with them, because I’m cat-sitting while the ‘rents are out of town. It’s been really nice. Hopefully my girls, Nola and Coco, aren’t jealous.
  5. Electricity. I think I’ve said I’m grateful for this before, but really, I must express appreciation for the simple things as often as I remember to!
  6. Jason Mraz is on the Today Show right now singing a song I like. That’s nice.

What are you grateful for?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 10:02 pm

    man i’m grateful for electricity too! and running water

  2. August 8, 2009 8:22 pm

    I really need to take a cue and write a list like this. I too am so grateful for social networking. I live so far from most of my friends and it’s the only way to really keep in contact.

Leave a Reply

