Skip to content

Banana Chocolate Oatmeal Bars and Shiny (Rainy) Days

July 31, 2009

It’s Friday. Glorious, glorious Friday. Except that here in the mountains we’re on day three of rain and thunderstorms. I know, I know New England (my home town included) got slammed with horrible weather for the entire month of June and much of July, while down here I spent days enjoying the blue skies, puffy clouds, flowers, and sunshine, so I’ve got no reason to complain.

So I’m going to things of some reasons I’m grateful for this weather instead, in keeping with my attempts to make every day shine.

  • I have gotten and will continue to get extra time with my sweetheart, since he can’t work in weather like this
  • The rain is good for all the flowers and trees I love to look at
  • The cloudy days make me appreciate and cherish sunny ones so much more
  • Reading while it rains out is very comforting and reminds me of my childhood
  • The weather makes me want to bake, and I have a yummy recipe to share with you!

Banana Chocolate Oatmeal Bars

This recipe is adapted from Tina’s Banana Oatmeal Chip Cookies. With only a few changes they become cookies bars and much more chocolatety! And still relatively healthy and vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole grain pancake mix (I like using this because the baking powder, salt, and baking soda are already mixed in.)
  • 1 cup old fashion rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup good quality cocoa powder
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed to a pulp
  • 1/4 cup agave or honey (not so vegan if you use honey)
  • 1/4 cup vanilla soy milk (or plain plus teaspoon vanilla)
  • 1 Tbl canola oil or grape seed oil
  • 1/2 cup good quality chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chips)

Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease or spray an 8×8 baking pan. Mix dry ingredients together in bowl. Make a well and add mashed bananas and other wet ingredients. Mix together gently until just combined. Gently fold in chocolate chips. Spread in baking dish and cook cook about 17 minutes, until set. Let cool somewhat, but be sure to eat a piece when the chocolate chips are still delicious and melty!

This recipe turned out very yummy and pretty chocolatey, but still the ingredients make it not too bad for you! Enjoy.

Yum

Yum

Also Yum!

Also Yum!

As for the rest of my day, I’m not sure what I’ll do to make it wonderful, but eating one of the cookie bars is definitely on the list!

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

