Skip to content

The Prosperity Game

July 29, 2009

I’m reading a book called Ask and It Is Given. Reading might be a strong word, actually, because I’ve had it out from the library since oh, May 15th or so and I’m STILL not finished with it. Thank goodness they keep letting me renew it.

It’s one of Jerry and Esther Hicks/Abraham books, so if you’re not familiar with them, I’d suggest checking out their website to learn more. I won’t go into major details here, other than to say that Esther channels this dude/spirit/thingy called Abraham that tells her the secrets of the Universe, and they sound pretty damn good to me. The main secret is the “Law of Attraction” which pretty much says if you think good thoughts you feel good things, when you feel good things you vibrate at a higher level, and more good stuff comes to you. And if you think bad things and feel bad, well, you can guess what happens to you.

Anywho, the second half of this book details 22 processes we mortals can use to up our vibrations and good feelings and get the good stuff flowin’! The instructions were to read through the various exercises and do the one or ones that call to you. Exercise number five, The Prosperity Game, said to me, “Jen! Hey! Over here! Get off your butt and try me!” And whenever the voices speak, I listen.

This is the premise: get yourself an imaginary bank account. It’s easy, no credit check involved. Find yourself some fake blank deposit slips and checks. You can make some on the computer, use real ones left from a defunct account, print some off the Internet, whatever. The idea is to make it as realistic as possible. On the first day of the process, deposit $1000 (imaginary) dollars into your account. Then write out $1000 worth of (imaginary) checks for whatever you wish. You don’t have to use up all the money, but it’s encouraged. On the second day deposit $2000. On the 50th day deposit $50,000 and on and on.

Why on earth would you do this? Because as the amount of money you’re giving yourself to spend becomes greater and greater, it will take more and more of your imagination and concentration to figure out what to do with it all. When you expand your imagination, you expand what you allow into your life. According to the book,

The Universe makes no distinction between the vibration you offer in response to what you are living and the vibration you offer in response to what you are imagining, so this Prosperity Game Process is a powerful tool for shifting your vibrational tool of attraction.

It goes on to say,

Playing this game will cause you to offer a more expansive, expectant vibration. And it is our promise to you that manifestations will begin to arrive in response to your changed vibration.

Sounds good to me!

I just started yesterday, so I “spent” $1000 yesterday and $2000 today? On what? I know you’re wondering! Yesterday I spent $200 on organic food, groceries, and household products from the local health food store, $500 on getting my gutters replaced (on my house, not on me), $150 on a metal sculpture for my sweetheart, $100 on another pair of hiking boots, and $50 on dinner and a movie. Today I spent $1000 on more repairs and improvements for my slanting house, and $1000 on a trip to Savannah with Anthony.

Money is one of my biggest struggles, but I can see, after only two days, that it makes me feel excited about money and to actually start to expect money to appear! Give it a whirl yourself!

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

