Skip to content

Stuart Smalley on Capitol Hill

July 6, 2009

Tomorrow Al Franken will be sworn in as a U.S. Senator from Minnesota. The election back in November was thisclose and Franken wasn’t declared the winner until July 1st. I can’t help but wonder, was he reaching back to his Stuart Smalley days on SNL and giving himself a dose of daily affirmations to get him through this uncertain time?

In case you don’t recall, Al Franken was a member of the cast of Saturday Night Live from 1985 to 1995, and one of the characters he played was that of Stuart Smalley, an affirmation-loving self-help guru. The episodes featuring Stuart used to crack me up. I was in high school at the time and I thought he was absolutely ridiculous. Why would anybody say crap like that to themselves over and over again?

Well, now I can see why it would be worth it. I guess if Franken invented the character of Stuart Smalley he probably didn’t take affirmations and their positive effects seriously, but I’d like to think they do some good. Especially because right now I’m using them on myself.

Stuart’s classic line was, “I’m good enough, smart enough, and people like me”. I guess in high school I never questioned any of those things about myself, but I know for sure as an adult, especially one in the midst of a career and life shift, I wonder if I’m good enough, smart enough and if people like me all the time. Okay, maybe not all the time, but it certainly crosses my mind.

In fact, this morning while I was taking my daily walk I was telling myself, “I am an awesome life coach! I love making people feel better!” I sometimes lose sight of the very simple things in life that make me feel good, and having confidence in my abilities is one of them. After I reminded myself I was a good life coach, I felt wonderful!

So remember, it might be hip to make fun of self-affirming gurus, but the truth is, you are good enough, smart enough, and people like you. And maybe someday you’ll be a senator.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 10:34 am

    You are an awesome lifecoach I’m sure!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

