Skip to content

July 1, 2009 Daily Gratitude

July 1, 2009

Today is the perfect example of why it’s so important to keep feeling grateful, even when you feel grumpy. I woke up happy and full of life and excitement this morning, as my boyfriend was supposed to begin his journey back home today. He would have either arrived quite late tonight or before lunch tomorrow morning, but either way he’d be going in the right direction. I started cleaning, got some groceries to prepare for his arrival, then called him to say good morning. And he was still in bed. And tired and grumpy sounding.

He’s a bit of a jokester; I thought he was kidding when he told me he was going to take one more day to get ready for the big trip down and that he’d leave tomorrow, very early, and be home around dinner time. I really didn’t believe him. But he wasn’t kidding and when I finally realized he was telling the truth my happy energy whooshed out of me like the helium out of a balloon. But balloons don’t cry.

Always one to take advantage of a good learning opportunity, I’m trying my best to see the good sides of this and to remember that it’s really only an extra 7 to 20 more hours later than he would have been home had he left today.

Also, I still have lots to be grateful for:

  1. There was a beautiful show orchestrated by mother nature outside my bedroom window today: flashes of lightning, a bright orange and grey sky, rain, and the sounds of thunder.
  2. I have my health and took a wonderful 60  minute walk this morning.
  3. My house is slightly cleaner right now than it was when I woke up.
  4. I have two clients today and plenty of other activities to keep me busy.
  5. My boyfriend will be home tomorrow. For real.
  6. It’s the second half of the year and I’m ready for it!
  7. I am taking a pottery class starting on July 13th, yay
  8. Writing this list has made me feel better already

What are you grateful for?

Leave a Reply

