Skip to content

‘Cause I’m Fancy Like That

June 11, 2009

I grew up in East Lyme, Connecticut, about ten minutes away from the shores of the Long Island Sound. I didn’t know it as a kid, but just across the Sound from my hometown was a very ritzy hot spot for celebs, the Hamptons. The Hamptons are made up of a bunch of different towns on the east end of Long Island; East Hampton, South Hampton, and Bridgehampton, to name a few.

I moved away from East Lyme when I was 17, and left the Northeast entirely a few times, and for good (for now!) in December of 2004.

I never gave the Hamptons any thought whatsoever until a coworker, Cindy, mentioned she had lived there until she and her husband moved to Western North Carolina.  It sounded like a neat place with many pretty houses and beaches, but ridiculously expensive and I didn’t really think I’d ever make it up there.

Cindy and I became friends quickly and six months later, when a friend of her husband’s came to visit from the Hamptons, she invited me over to meet him.  And that was the end of my single days! Anthony and I hit it off the day after we met (I met him late at night and was exhausted from a long day of work as an event planner; we didn’t really talk until we went hiking the next day) and seven months later he had picked up his life in New York and settled in with me, Nola, and Coconut.

Well, this year he went back. Not permanently; just for a big job that was worth his while.  I was bummed that he was going to be away from me, but certainly happy with the opportunity to visit a new place, especially one with the beauty of the Hamptons in June!

My pictures can’t even begin to capture how lovely it was up there; gorgeous homes, huge blooming Rhodedendrons all over the place, adorable small towns, tree lined streets, it was wonderful!

Tree lined street on my daily walk

Tree lined street on my daily walk

More greens!

More greens!

My walk was so peaceful!

My walk was so peaceful!

Beautiful houses along the way

Beautiful houses along the way

Even the elementary school is lovely

Even the elementary school is lovely

And a lovely church, too. Love the blue and yellow!

And a lovely church, too. Love the blue and yellow!

Lovely farmer's market on the walk

Close by farmer's market

Another shot of the farmer's market (they had local strawberries, mmmm!)

Another shot of the farmer's market (they had local strawberries, mmmm!)

Cute streets of Amagansett, a 25 minute walk from the house

Cute streets of Amagansett, a 25 minute walk from the house

The walkway to the beach, just across from the house!

The walkway to the beach, just across the street from the house!

There it is!

There it is!

My spot

My spot

The weather was only really nice enough to lay out on the beach one day, but I took advantage of it! While I was there I called my  mom, who reminded me how amazing my life is. This year, 2009, I’ve already been on a road trip down to Florida through Vero Beach on down to the Keys to camp, out to the San Francisco Bay area for two weeks to visit my friend and her new baby, and to New York! Not to mention that in about a month I’m going to Chicago for a conference, I’m sure we’ll go camping a few times, we’re tentatively talking about going back out West in September, and who knows what else will come my way!

I set travel as a priority for myself about 8 years ago, and since then I’ve seen so many wonderful places, I am even surprised when I list them all. Somehow it hand’t ocurred to me how lucky I was, but when my mom pointed out that I was spending 5 days at a beach house in the Hamptons, basically for free except my plane ticket, I realized how right she was!

After I finished talking to her a friend from high school called me and when he asked where I was I said, “I’m laying on the beach in the Hamptons. Because I’m fancy like that.” And fancy I was…while I was out there I saw Jerry Seinfeld! I kept hoping I’d see a celebrity, and he lives in a house not far from where Anthony is working. Lo and behold, on a drive to dinner one night he drove by us in his expensive convertible!

Why did I write a blog post about this trip?  Well, because I love to travel and wanted to share the pictures, but also to continue to live by example. I am not wealthy (yet!), but I put my energy and good vibrations out to the Universe that I want to travel. I want to see every state in the U.S. (only about 20 to go) I want to visit many, many countries in my lifetime. I want to hike and camp and lay on the beach. And it’s all happening for me. I have complete faith that travel will be a huge part of my life for a very, very long time, and when you believe in something it really does come to you.

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

