Skip to content

We’re All Going To Die!

June 6, 2009

I previously published this blog post last year, when I realized that staying at my job was really a bad idea.  Because we’re all going to die.  Enjoy.

I had a great weekend. A fantastic weekend, even. I was creative in the kitchen, creative in the whatever room it is you make art in, there was creativity flying all over the place. But what really made my weekend great? Realizing that we’re all going to die.

I spent some time both Saturday and Sunday with my mom, and on Saturday she shared with me some info from a book she’s reading now…and I wish I could tell you the author and title of that book, but I can’t at the moment. It was written by a doctor who says something along the lines of: “We’re all going to die. Probably by around 85. You may very well get a disease. You don’t need 900 zillion medications and medical tests, you’re going to die eventually anyways.”

It’s not the over-medicating and over-testing stuff that struck me. Instead, it was that we’re all going to die!!! It’s such a relief to know that no matter what I do in this life, I’m still going to die. Eat an extra chocolate chip cookie? Dying anyways, don’t sweat it. Spent longer than I should have reading instead of sleeping last night? I still only have 57 years left. Quit my job while wearing my underwear on my head? Funny and will not change the length of my life.

Why should I spend this time I have on this earth being miserable? Don’t get me wrong, I love to exercise and eat a generally healthy diet, I want to feel good until I die, but why am I wasting so much time being miserable and worrying about things that I don’t really have to do, just because I want to live up to some standard society has set for me when we’re all going to die anyways???

This post went on to mention some of the things I’d done over the weekend, like baking, making collages, etc, but I thought the stuff above was what I really wanted to share with you.

Reading this post again this year is still really, really helpful to me.  Yes, I have made huge life changes, switched to a career that is a perfect fit for me, faced so many fears I can’t even count them all, and am much happier than I’ve ever been, but this info is still a great reminder to me.

If I have an off day, it’s okay.  If I am not completely successful in every single endeavor of my life, it’s okay.  I’m doing my best in this life to follow what my heart wants, and someday I’m going to die.  Until then, though, I’m going to do my very best to live every day to the fullest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

