Skip to content

Oh, Hawaii

June 4, 2009

Today I’m off on a mini-adventure: flying from Asheville, NC, up to Islip, NY.  I have to take three different planes! Oh well, I finally get to see my sweetheart after 8 looooooong weeks without him, so it’s worth it!

He’s up north for work, and happens to be in the Hamptons, right on the beach! You can be sure I’ll return with lots of pictures of the beautiful beaches and hey, maybe a celebrity pic, too. (Sweetheart saw Keanu Reeves at the grocery store over Memorial Day.)

Since I don’t have anything to report about my trip, I thought I’d take you on another stroll down Memory Lane: Our three week trip to Hawaii in January/February of 2008.  I had actually been to Hawaii once before, but it was Anthony’s first trip.  We visited Oahu, Kauai, and the Big Island.

Napali Coast Overlook. I can't believe I was here!

Napali Coast Overlook. I can't believe I was here!

View of the Napali Coast.

View of the Napali Coast, Kauai

View into Waimea Canyon.

View into Waimea Canyon, Kauai

Kiluea Iki Crater

Kiluea Iki Crater, Big Island

View of Waipio Valley from rental house

View of Waipio Valley from rental house, Big Island

Akaka Falls, Big Island

Akaka Falls, Big Island

Me and Anthony

Me and Anthony

Me and Anthony, kissing in a cave

Me and Anthony, kissing in a cave

Muana Loa, Big Island.  Or Muana Kea.

Active volcano on Big Island

Hawaii is beautiful! If you ever get the chance to go, I highly recommend it.  By the end of our trip I was really, really ready to come home, though.  Despite its beauty, the Hawaiian Islands are so tumultuous! Shortly before we arrived, Oahu had experienced an earth quake! While we were on the Big Island, heavy rain caused some small avalanches and flash floods.  And just after we left the state, the active volcano on the Big Island really started spewing, causing some residents to evacuate! Hawaii is still alive, it’s a growing place, and it can be scary!

What wonderful places have you visited?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 1:03 pm

    I have never been to Hawaii, and your pictures look just as beautiful as I thought they might!!

    I think I am meant to live by the beach…just a thought:)

    Can’t wait to see pics from your trip!

Leave a Reply

