Skip to content

Spinach Quiche

June 3, 2009

Recipe for Spinach Quiche with Cheesy Quiche Crust

Ingredients:

Quiche:

  • 6 eggs
  • One box frozen chopped spinach
  • One medium sweet onion, chopped
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of pepper
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded Colby Jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup milk or unsweetened milk alternative

Crust:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/8 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/8 cup Colby Jack cheese
  • 6 TBL butter, cut up
  • 5 TBL cold water

Directions:

Mmmm, it’s going to be hard for me to type this because all I can do is drool on the keyboard thinking about how tasty this dish is!

Okay, I wiped off the keyboard and I’m ready now.

First, make the crust.  Combine flours, then mix in cut up butter.  Mix with your hands until butter is mostly mixed in to flour.  Next, add in cheese:

Flour & cheese mix

Flour & cheese mix

Next sprinkle on cold water, one tablespoon at a time, until the dough leaves the sides of the bowl and forms a ball.  I only had to use about half of the amount called for.

Ball o' dough and cheese

Ball o' dough and cheese

Let the dough chill for at least half an hour, but if you have longer, it will be easier to handle.  Roll out to desired size; I was making a 9″ pie crust.

Rolling out crust

Rolling out crust

Put crust into pie plate!

Voila! Ready for quiche!

Voila! Ready for quiche!

I’m very happy with how this crust came out, because I usually have a terrible time with them! This one was manageable, though.

Next I made the quiche.  Honestly, I never follow a recipe and just kind of throw in what feels right. In this case, I poured a teeny bit of grape-seed oil in a pan and sauteed a chopped up sweet onion for about 6 or 7 minutes, until it started to brown.  While that was going on I defrosted the frozen spinach, then squeezed out all the liquid.  I would LOVE to use fresh spinach for this recipe, but it would use ALOT and I just didn’t have what I would have needed! Once the spinach was done I threw it in with the onion to cook for a few more minutes.

While that was cooking I whisked together the eggs – I normally only use about four for a quiche, but today used six.  I put about a 1/8 cup Parmesan and an 1/8 cup Colby Jack in with the egg  mix, along with salt, pepper, and about 1/2 a cup soy milk.  I think I ended up adding more, I always just eyeball it! I also love to add sour cream (or maybe Greek yogurt?) to this recipe, but was all out after making that cake! (Which, by the way, was FANTASTIC!)

Next, throw a couple tablespoons mixed cheese onto the bottom of your pie crust.  Mix together the veggie mixture and the egg/cheese mixture, and pour it over cheese and crust.  Lastly, top the quiche with a few more tablespoons cheese. I cook it in a 350 degree oven for 35 to 40 minutes.

Many quiches use TONS of cheese; but I find that the spinach, onions, and eggs, with just a little cheese, is plenty flavorful! This is the finished product:

Don't you want a piece??

Don't you want a piece??

I’m happy to say this quiche was gone within 18 hours of its creation.  There were three of us eating it, I think if a fourth person had been added it would have been polished off in one sitting!

Enjoy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 12:58 pm

    My mom used to make quiches a lot (it’s one of the only dishes she knows how to make lol!). Sometimes they’d come out amazing, and other time…no comment…

    Yours looks FABULOUS! I totally just saved the recipe 😛 I’ve never tried making quiche so I think I just might have to now!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

