Skip to content

Polymer Clay Pot

June 1, 2009

Recipe for a Polymer Clay Pot (for my Mom’s birthday!)

Ingredients:

  • Glass vessel of some sort
  • Polymer clay in whatever colors you’d like
  • Patience
  • An oven to bake project in

Directions:

I love art.  I make arts and crafts projects all the time.  The one thing I am not good at, however, is making things perfect.  I think that’s amazing when people can, but it’s just not me.  Therefore, there may very well be some cat hair in this finished product!

First I started out with some chunks of polymer clay

Chunks of Clay

Chunks of Clay

I have a glass cutting board that I use to roll out my clay, and it’s used for polymer clay ONLY! Polymer clay is poisonous, so it’s not something you want to mix with your food!

After mixing some colors together, I rolled out a piece of clay and started applying it to the small glass container I had chosen.

Applying the clay

Applying the clay

Once I was finished covering the vessel, I started applying accents.

Flowers of clay

Flowers of clay

After I finished applying all of the decorations I wanted, I baked my piece in the oven at 275 degrees for 15 minutes. Once again, I used a cookie sheet that I only use for polymer clay projects, never baking. When the piece cooled I took some pictures of the finished product.

IMG_3643IMG_3644IMG_3646

I gave this to my mom for her birthday, because I always like to make her something from the heart.

Happy Birthday Mom! I love you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 8:28 pm

    OMG that is so adorable!! Happy Birthday to your mom 🙂 🙂 I also don’t do things perfectly lol 🙂 But I think it turns out better that way 😉

    Btw thanks for your comment, it was really insightful!

  2. August 18, 2009 12:42 am

    This is to cute 🙂 I’m sure that your mom LOVED it. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone that makes things “perfect” and if you think about it… Wouldn’t that just take all the fun out of it 😀

Leave a Reply

