Skip to content

Kitties and Cake

May 31, 2009

Cats and cake don’t really go together, but trust me, I’ll figure out a way to make it work.

First of all, I’d like to tell (and show) you have very helpful my cats are around the house:

Coco helping me finish my water

Coco helping me finish my water

Nola helping me make the bed

Nola helping me make the bed

Coco helping Anthony with his taxes

Coco helping Anthony with his taxes

Nola helping me study

Nola helping me study

Despite how helpful they are around the rest of the house, today they did not volunteer to help me bake and cook for my mom’s birthday dinner tonight.  Which, I’m sure you’ll all agree, is probably a good thing. Also, I’m done forcing you to look at pictures of them. For now.

I’m making spinach quiche and a chocolate cake, but for now I’m just going to show you the cake since the quiche is not yet in existence!

I started with Sandy’s Chocolate Cake from Allrecipes.com as my base. I did not use the frosting from the recipe and I made a few other changes, as well:

  • Scaled the recipe down to make two layers, not three
  • Replaced 3/4 cup of the all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour
  • Replaced the boiling water with boiling coffee

This recipe is not healthy.  At all.  But I don’t freaking care, because I made it last year and it’s delicious! I do think you could easily sub out the sour cream in the recipe for nonfat Greek yogurt and I’m sure you could sub some Smart Balance for the butter, if you so desired.

I used this Rich Chocolate Frosting for the topping, but of course had to change it, as usual.  I halved the recipe to start with, and instead of the 4.5 cups of powdered sugar the recipe called for, I used 4, and upped the cocoa from 1/2 a cup to 3/4 of a cup.  I also used vanilla soy milk instead of milk, but only about a 1/4 of a cup instead of the higher amount they suggested.

Here’s how it went down:

Oiled cake pans dusted with cocoa

Oiled cake pans dusted with cocoa

Coffee makes for an awesome chocolate flavor!

Coffee makes for an awesome chocolate flavor!

That batter sure looks good!

That batter sure looks good!

Ooops! Didn't make it out of the pan too well!

Ooops! Didn't make it out of the pan too well!

Ball o' saturated fat. I mean, frosting.

Ball o' saturated fat. I mean, frosting.

Not too bad!

Not too bad!

I love to bake, but I am really not good with decorating! I usually make things like cookies, quick breads, and muffins, because I don’t have to try to make them pretty.

Oh well, I’m sure this cake is fantastic and my mom will certainly love eating something made from scratch by her daughter!

I’ll report back on how it tasted.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 6:44 pm

    You need to come to my house and make me cake!! It looks SO good! And who cares if it’s not healthy, when you’re eating cake, you might as well have the real thing!!!

    Your cats are too adorable btw 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Spinach Quiche « Jen Trinque’s Recipes For Creativity

Leave a Reply

