Skip to content

Comin’ Up Rosey

May 29, 2009
tags: ,

Recipe for a lovely Friday

Ingredients

  • Something beautiful to brighten your day

Directions:

Fridays are already pretty wonderful, aren’t they?  Mine was made extra special today, so I thought I’d share it with you.

I walk every day at a lake near my house.  The beautiful rose pictures I posted a couple weeks ago were from the Rose Walk section of that walk, and sometimes, if you’re lucky, you’ll be walking when the landscapers are cutting fresh roses and giving them away.  Today was my lucky day!

I would say that in the 4 plus years I’ve been walking this path, I’ve gotten to bring home roses about 4 or 5 times, you just have to be there at the right time.

Today I was only going to take one or two roses, but the gentleman cutting them insisted I take all six that he had, because he didn’t want them to go to waste! I immediately brought them home and arranged them in the only vase I have: a jelly jar.

So Lovely!

So Lovely!

This is closer to the true color of the roses

This is closer to the true color of the roses

Ah, don’t those just make you feel good?

In other news, yesterday I went to a fantastic seminar put on by Mountain BizWorks specifically for women business owners.  It was a great event and MBW is a great organization, and I plan to blog about it in more detail very soon!

Also, I’m going to be doing something I hardly ever do this weekend: baking a layer cake.  With real butter.  And white flour.  Actually, I probably will do a mix of whole wheat and white, just because.  My mom’s birthday is Monday and she requested a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, so I certainly couldn’t refuse! I normally make healthy baked goods, but sometimes you just gotta do the real deal, you know? I’ll take pictures so you can see how pathetic creative I am with cake decoration.

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

