Skip to content

Meditation

May 24, 2009

I have been finding meditation really helpful lately, much more so than in the past.  I have tried so many different methods for meditating over the years I couldn’t even count, but I don’t think it’s the technique I’m using right now that’s working so well, but my dedication to it.

Part of the problem with me sticking to a meditation routine was that life always seemed to get in the way. I would try it for a day or two but during the sessions themselves I’d get distracted quickly and, in turn, think I couldn’t do it, and let it go as soon as work or errands or pets got in the way.

Now that I work from home I am finding it much easier to meditate, and I’ve actually been meditating each morning and night, something I could have easily done even when I had a more jam packed schedule.  In fact, meditating is starting to feel as important to me as exercising, which is something that has been a part of my life, on an almost daily basis, for quite a few years now.

I think I saw exercise as something that was good for me and important to my overall health, but I’m really starting to see meditation the same way now.  If I wake up uneasy for some reason, meditating calms that.  If I am having trouble sleeping at night, a meditation session helps that, too.  I also am finding it easier and easier to bring myself back to the calmness I felt while meditating if I start to feel stressed or overwhelmed during the day.

I’m definitely not perfect at it, and I definitely sometimes don’t put as much into it as I had planned, but I’m really energized by the progress I’ve made with it.

The things that I have found that have helped me the most are:

  1. Remembering to continually focus on my breath, even if my mind starts to go off in another direction, I just come back to the in and out of my breathing.
  2. Focusing my energy on the “space between my eyes”. Since I started doing this I now also know that this area is where the Third Eye Chakra is, so perhaps that’s why this seems particularly relaxing.
  3. If I can’t seem to stop thinking, I pick something positive to focus on, instead. This could be an affirmation of something I am hoping to attract into my life, an affirmation of my faith that everything is going as it should, or a compassionate meditation towards myself and others.

If you’ve never tried it, but already follow another routine because your health is important to you, consider adding ten minutes each day for meditation.  Try to stick with it for 30 days and see if it feels like it’s improving your life the way it’s been improving mine.

Be Joyful!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

